Problems After Upgrading to 9.1 (had to downgrade)

Ask general questions here.
Balash
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri May 31, 2019 5:32 pm

Problems After Upgrading to 9.1 (had to downgrade)

Post by Balash » Fri May 31, 2019 6:21 pm

I’m wondering if anyone else has seen the following problem with these release.
1) The plugin for ie does not install and function properly. After upgrading to 9.1, tests on ie dramatic slowed down. I looked around and noticed two identical copies of ie plugin were installed. Spy stopped working on ie with the message that Ranorex ie plugin is not working properly.
a. Uninstalled the plugin; deleted all registry entries, reinstall the plugin. Same problem again.

b. Uninstalled Ranorex and performed a fresh install. This time the 64bit plugin got installed but still the same problem. Tests would not run properly and Spy complained that ie plugin is not working.

2) After upgrade in some project Ranorex cannot find the *.rxtst file is missing! Basically actually the test files didn’t upgrade!
After a whole day wasted on this, downgrade back to 9.0 and restored all my files.
FYI: I upgraded from 9.0 x64 to 9.1. Test are written and executed in x64. OS is Windows 10 1803 (OS build 17134.765). Internet Explorer 11 Ver 11.7651.17134.0 –update 11.0.125 (KB4498206)

a.s
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jul 06, 2017 3:25 pm

Re: Problems After Upgrading to 9.1 (had to downgrade)

Post by a.s » Thu Jun 13, 2019 9:19 am

Regarding Internet Explorer 11 we see the same Problem: After upgrading from 9.0.1 (where everything ran quite ok) to 9.1 the tests using IE11 are rather unreliable now - writing new one is virtually impossible....
RX claims the plugin not being installed, IE claims two of these things are there, uninstalling, reinstalling does not really help

and the hints given in the warning message - see below - do not change a thing
(It seems the Ranorex addon for Internet Explorer isn’t installed. This makes object recognition significantly slower. Install the addon by running the Ranorex Studio setup again and only select the addon. In Internet Explorer, also disable Enhanced Protected Mode and, on Windows Server, Internet Explorer Enhanced Security Configuration.
Process: 'iexplore' (pid 8464)
The following website provides more information on this technology limitation:
https://www.ranorex.com/help/v9.1/inter ... g-started/
(This message is only shown once per report.))

Anyone else seen this...?

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 12002
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Problems After Upgrading to 9.1 (had to downgrade)

Post by Support Team » Mon Jun 17, 2019 7:57 pm

Hi a.s.,

Two things we can check. First, there was a short-lived issue that the IE extension pointed to the wrong directory. Check this and if it is not pointing to the current 9.1 If it is not, please let me know and I will provide the fix.

Right-click extension name > More information
1.png
1.png (18.47 KiB) Viewed 370 times

If that is not the issue, it is possible the communication pipe between IE and Ranorex is broken. To check if the pipe is working, open the standalone Ranorex Spy from the start menu and a website in IE. Download and run the pipelist*.bat. In the same folder, a file should be created. Open this in notepad (or your preferred text editor), and see if it contains Rx9Ranorex_Trident_Interface_11460_S4 2 -1 .

If the Rx9Ranorex_Trident pipe is not listed, this likely means the pipe is missing or broken. To reinstall this pipe, you must reinstall Ranorex.
  1. Close all Ranorex applications and browsers
  2. Uninstall Ranorex
  3. Restart your machine (important!)
  4. Install Ranorex
  5. Restart your machine (important!)
I hope this helps!

Regards,
Ned
.
Image

Balash
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri May 31, 2019 5:32 pm

Re: Problems After Upgrading to 9.1 (had to downgrade)

Post by Balash » Fri Jul 05, 2019 12:40 am

I noticed the folder location in you posting is different from folder location in my current setting:

In my current (working) install the Folder value is "C:\Program Files (x86)\Ranorex\Studio\Bin\Runtime"
RanorexProblem.PNG
RanorexProblem.PNG (15.31 KiB) Viewed 298 times

Could that be the source of the problem?

In the case of broken pipeline, you suggested re-installing Ranorex. Well, I've already clean installed twice and that didn't solve the problem.

Regards,
Balash
Attachments
RanorexProblem.PNG
RanorexProblem.PNG (15.31 KiB) Viewed 299 times