Problems by integrating Ranorex with Jenkins

Experiences, small talk, and other automation gossip.
anja
Posts: 67
Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2010 3:39 pm

Problems by integrating Ranorex with Jenkins

Post by anja » Wed May 02, 2012 7:41 am

Hi,

I already posted something in another Topic...
We are executing our Ranorex tests on PCs which are registered as Jenkins Slaves. Jenkins triggers the execution of the executable over batch file.
Sometimes the PC gets a bluescreen.

We analyzed this a little bit and following scenarios were the ones which are followed by bluescreen:
1. At the end of a job when Ranorex executable is completed (Last line in Console Logger: Test suite successfull and after this we get fatal errors because the PC has no longer responded)
2. Stopping the Job within Jenkins --> The slave should stop the execution and this was not working
3. Stopping Ranorex Test execution on the PC via "Break", then the PC crashed

We already exchanged the first PC where this problem occurs with another. (completely different manufacturer)... but the same problem occurs. The tests are still the same and the software and hardware environment, too.

Executing the tests completely manually makes no problems...

Thank you for your help...

Best regards
Anja

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Problems by integrating Ranorex with Jenkins

Post by Support Team » Thu May 03, 2012 2:56 pm

Hi,
Executing the tests completely manually makes no problems...
Are the tests executed with another config if they are started with Jenkins?
There must be any different settings/configs if the tests are started with Jenkins, maybe you can try out different settings/configs?
Stopping Ranorex Test execution on the PC via "Break", then the PC crashed
What did you mean with "Break", the normal "Pause/Break" key?

Can you also send us some more information about your test environment and your application under test?
Maybe you can also send us a Ranorex Snapshot file of your application?
Following link will show you how to generate a snapshot file.
You can upload it here, or you can send it to our support mail address, [email protected].

Regards,
Markus
Ranorex Support Team
.
Image

anja
Posts: 67
Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2010 3:39 pm

Re: Problems by integrating Ranorex with Jenkins

Post by anja » Thu May 10, 2012 11:32 am

Hi,
maybe we have found the cause of the troubles.

It seems that the driver for a relais card used during ranorex tests caused the troubles. After the Ranorex tests were finished, the session to the USB-RelaisCard was not closed correctly.

At the moment, the tests are working fine.

Thank you for your help.

Best regards
Anja