Problems with "Validate" function

Class library usage, coding and language questions.
EugeneF
Posts: 63
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2011 12:26 am

Problems with "Validate" function

Post by EugeneF » Mon Sep 19, 2011 5:49 pm

I would like to validate some application conditions during of test.
I am using both - "Image Based" and GUI control based validation.
Both of them kind of flicky - some times they work, some times do not.
I increased Duration time, element wait time to 30s, I include "Invoke Action" for the element I am validating - no success.

Can you please help me to create more robust script.

Thanks.

~ Eugene

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Problems with "Validate" function

Post by Support Team » Tue Sep 20, 2011 8:37 am

EugeneF wrote:Can you please help me to create more robust script.
  • Therefore we need a detailed description about your element.
  • A snapshot would be also very useful.
    How to create a Ranorex Snapshot
  • And also your piece of code where you try to validate the item.
  • Which Version of Ranorex do you use?
  • What technology are you testing? Means, your Unit Under Test is WPF, WinForms...
Thanks in advance.

Regards,
Peter
Ranorex Team
.
Image

EugeneF
Posts: 63
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2011 12:26 am

Re: Problems with "Validate" function

Post by EugeneF » Thu Oct 06, 2011 7:11 pm

After using Validation function recorder reads the same control differently - please see attached files.
I have Ranorex 3.1.0.13946
The AUT is Windows application.
Attachments
record8.rxsnp
(307.74 KiB) Downloaded 231 times
Recording8.rxrec
(266.34 KiB) Downloaded 192 times
Recording8.cs
(6.06 KiB) Downloaded 185 times

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Problems with "Validate" function

Post by Support Team » Mon Oct 10, 2011 2:06 pm

Hi,

Sorry for the late response and thank you for the files. But I would need the repository too to check the recording. Would it be possible to post us the repository too?

Regards,
Peter
Ranorex Team
.
Image

EugeneF
Posts: 63
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2011 12:26 am

Re: Problems with "Validate" function

Post by EugeneF » Tue Oct 11, 2011 3:49 pm

Here they are - repository files.
Attachments
PIPELINE_C#Repository.zip
(147.85 KiB) Downloaded 186 times
PIPELINE_C#Repository2.zip
(1.42 MiB) Downloaded 185 times

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Problems with "Validate" function

Post by Support Team » Wed Oct 12, 2011 3:34 pm

Hi,

I saw in your repository that the instance attribute is used in your RxPath. Is this attribute needed or not? If not please try to remove it, because this can cause issues by identifying the elements.

Regards,
Peter
Ranorex Team
.
Image

EugeneF
Posts: 63
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2011 12:26 am

Re: Problems with "Validate" function

Post by EugeneF » Wed Oct 12, 2011 4:46 pm

I do not think so I need the instance attribute, however, how come it creates the problem I have? Is it Ranorex bug, AUT bug or something in between?

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Problems with "Validate" function

Post by Support Team » Thu Oct 13, 2011 12:27 pm

Hi,
EugeneF wrote:I do not think so I need the instance attribute, however, how come it creates the problem I have? Is it Ranorex bug, AUT bug or something in between?
It is hard to determine, I think the element is created dynamically from your software and maybe we evaluate the wrong RxPath in your Software. Is it possible to get your software to create the issue in our house?

Regards,
Peter
Ranorex Team
.
Image

EugeneF
Posts: 63
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2011 12:26 am

Re: Problems with "Validate" function

Post by EugeneF » Mon Oct 17, 2011 5:27 pm

Yes, it's possible. Can you please provide me with valid e-mail and name, and I will create login and provide access to our application.

You may send it to [email protected]

Thanks.

Eugene Frankel +1-(800) 433-2550 x2063

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Problems with "Validate" function

Post by Support Team » Tue Oct 18, 2011 8:39 am

Hi,
EugeneF wrote:Yes, it's possible. Can you please provide me with valid e-mail and name, and I will create login and provide access to our application.
Please send us the information to [email protected].

Thank you.

Regards,
Peter
Ranorex Team
.
Image

EugeneF
Posts: 63
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2011 12:26 am

Re: Problems with "Validate" function

Post by EugeneF » Wed Oct 19, 2011 9:25 pm

Hi Peter,

I sent you e-mail with info request - we need it in order to create account for you with our application.
Please respond.

Thanks.

Eugene

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Problems with "Validate" function

Post by Support Team » Thu Oct 20, 2011 12:39 pm

Hi Eugene,

I sent you the requested infos per mail.

Regards,
Peter
Ranorex Team
.
Image

EugeneF
Posts: 63
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2011 12:26 am

Re: Problems with "Validate" function

Post by EugeneF » Tue Oct 25, 2011 5:10 pm

Thank you! Our IT is working on it.

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Problems with "Validate" function

Post by Support Team » Thu Oct 27, 2011 9:19 am

Hi,

I received the login credentials and I will try now to reproduce the issue. Would it be possible to send or post me your whole project? This would be great, because then we have the exact same base.

Regards,
Peter
Ranorex Team
.
Image

EugeneF
Posts: 63
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2011 12:26 am

Re: Problems with "Validate" function

Post by EugeneF » Fri Oct 28, 2011 9:58 pm

It's pretty big. Is there a way to upload it somewhere?