Python in 3.0?

Ask general questions here.
Felix
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Oct 10, 2010 11:19 am

Python in 3.0?

Post by Felix » Tue Mar 22, 2011 12:02 pm

Hello,

after waiting for Ranorex 3.0 i can't see any support for Python/IronPython in the Ranorex Studio.
Whats wrong?

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Python in 3.0?

Post by Support Team » Tue Mar 22, 2011 1:52 pm

Hi,

have a look at followig forum post which will cover your question:
http://www.ranorex.com/forum/ranorex-in ... html#p7378

Regards,
Tobias
Support Team
.
Image

Felix
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Oct 10, 2010 11:19 am

Re: Python in 3.0?

Post by Felix » Tue Mar 22, 2011 3:18 pm

Too bad.
Thats what i call a "breaking change"... :shock:
From my point of view, it should have been announced officially (at least).

Please also take a look at this:
http://community.sharpdevelop.net/forums/t/12728.aspx
...

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Python in 3.0?

Post by Support Team » Tue Mar 22, 2011 6:06 pm

IronPython was dropped as a language for which code is auto-generated from the intermediate XML files in Ranorex Studio 3.0. This does not mean that you cannot use it with the Ranorex API.

Ironpython is a .NET scripting language and Ranorex is a .NET API.

Form a language perspective Ironpython can still be used to automate with Ranorex DLLs, because it is a .NET scripting language, just like you could use any other .NET language.

So you can run ipy in a console and do:

Code: Select all

import clr
clr.AddReference('Ranorex.Core')
import Ranorex;
bt = Ranorex.Button("/form[@controlname='formVipApplication']/button[@controlname='btAdd']")
bt.Click()
… and the Add button of the VipApplication will be clicked.
.
Image

Felix
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Oct 10, 2010 11:19 am

Re: Python in 3.0?

Post by Felix » Tue Mar 22, 2011 7:18 pm

IronPython was dropped as a language for which code is auto-generated from the intermediate XML files in Ranorex Studio 3.0. This does not mean that you cannot use it with the Ranorex API.
Sure, but it means using Python within Ranorex Studio 3.0 is not possible anymore. :?:
In other words: Ranorex Studio 3.0 isn't downwards compatible with older Ranorex Projects that use Python.
:!:

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Python in 3.0?

Post by Support Team » Thu Mar 24, 2011 10:16 am

Hi,

Sorry, but using Ranorex Studio 3.0 with IronPhtyon isn't possible anymore.
As written above: "IronPython was dropped as a language for which code is auto-generated from the intermediate XML files in Ranorex Studio 3.0. This does not mean that you cannot use it with the Ranorex API."
But you can convert your projects with Ranorex 2.3.x to C# or VB .Net, then you can use the entire features of Ranorex 3.0.

Regards,
Peter
Ranorex Team
.
Image