Qooxdoo paths

Technology specific object identification, supported applications, web technologies, and 3rd party controls.
tdibble
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2014 10:20 pm

Qooxdoo paths

Post by tdibble » Tue Nov 18, 2014 4:57 pm

Just a quick warning...I'm really new to Ranorex so this may be trivial.

The GUI I'm attempting to test was built using Qooxdoo controls that are auto-generated based on server content. Unfortunately, when the framework was designed, unique IDs for input fields (i.e. labels) weren't used. See the attached screenshot of the paths generated by Ranorex.

To make things harder, it appears the paths from one build of the GUI SW to the next can change. For example, I'm having a hard time finding McpAdmin (highlighted in screenshot) between the OldGUI and the NewGUI because the path on the base is slightly different.

Is there a way when setting up the Ranorex script that I can make it more dynamic? I'd like to avoid tweaking my Ranorex scripts after every build.

Also, I attempted to capture my Ranorex code per the README at the top of this forum. However, I couldn't figure that out either.
Attachments
Paths.PNG
Paths.PNG (34.96 KiB) Viewed 1135 times

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Qooxdoo paths

Post by Support Team » Wed Nov 19, 2014 5:45 pm

Hi tdibble,

First of all, very welcome to our online forum :).

Regarding your question, this is not a trivial question since it is about our RxPath build settings.
In order to better analyze the issue regarding the RxPaths, may I ask you to post or send (to [email protected]) a Ranorex snapshot file of the specific "McpAdmin" element from the old and the new GUI, or could we somehow get access to your webpage, which would be even better :)?
The following link will show you how to generate a snapshot file: Creating Ranorex Snapshot Files.

Thanks,
Markus
.
Image

tdibble
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2014 10:20 pm

Re: Qooxdoo paths

Post by tdibble » Wed Nov 19, 2014 6:26 pm

Markus,

Thanks for the prompt response! I have attached snapshot files of both GUIs. Unfortunately, I cannot make these GUIs public.

Cheers,
Ted
Attachments
New GUI.rxsnp
(77.26 KiB) Downloaded 66 times
Old GUI.rxsnp
(142.67 KiB) Downloaded 68 times

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Qooxdoo paths

Post by Support Team » Thu Nov 20, 2014 1:52 pm

Hi tdibble,

I am afraid you created the snapshots from the wrong elements.

Could you please create the snapshot from the root dom element of your old and new GUI web site as shown below?
RootDomElement.png
RootDomElement.png (6.58 KiB) Viewed 1103 times
Please also send me the RxPaths of the specific McpAdmin element of both versions.

Thanks,
Markus
.
Image

tdibble
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2014 10:20 pm

Re: Qooxdoo paths

Post by tdibble » Thu Nov 20, 2014 9:07 pm

I attached the new snapshots.

Old GUI Path:
/dom[@domain='10.243.20.113:30000']/body/div[3]/div[1]/div[3]/div[3]/div[1]/div/div/div[2]/div[1]/div[@innertext='Mcp Admin']

New GUI Path:
/dom[@domain='10.243.20.113:30000']/body/div[2]/div[1]/div[3]/div[3]/div[1]/div/div/div[2]/div[1]/div[@innertext='Mcp Admin']

When or after the paths are generated, can I configure Ranorex to look for the innertex='Mcp Admin' and ingore all of the path info?
Attachments
New GUI #2.rxsnp
(116.37 KiB) Downloaded 74 times
Old GUI #2.rxsnp
(115.65 KiB) Downloaded 62 times

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Qooxdoo paths

Post by Support Team » Fri Nov 21, 2014 12:38 pm

Hi tdibble,

Thanks for the snapshots, this time they are the right ones :).

As I can see from the snapshots just the first part of the RxPath changed, so the following RxPath should work for you: "/dom[@domain='10.243.20.113:30000']/body/div[@visible='true']/div[@visible='true']/div[@class='qx-splitpane']/div[@class='qx-input']/div/div/div/div/div/div[@innertext='Mcp Admin']".

As just the first part changed you could also use the indexes after the "div[@class='qx-input']" element: "/dom[@domain='10.243.20.113:30000']/body/div[@visible='true']/div[@visible='true']/div[@class='qx-splitpane']/div[@class='qx-input']/div[1]/div/div/div[2]/div[1]/div[@innertext='Mcp Admin']".

What do you mean with "ignore all of the path info"? Do you mean the div elements, or a specific attribute?

Regards,
Markus
.
Image