Question about Floating License

Ask general questions here.
artur.rodrigues
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Feb 29, 2016 4:39 pm
Location: Portugal

Question about Floating License

Post by artur.rodrigues » Mon Feb 29, 2016 5:02 pm

Hello,

I have a couple of questions about the Runtime Floating License:

1. Can this license type be installed on a Windows Server machine?
2. If so, can the same license be used by multiple users connected to the same machine at the same time?

Thank you for your time.
Artur Rodrigues

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3908
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Question about Floating License

Post by odklizec » Tue Mar 01, 2016 10:49 am

Hi Artur and welcome here,

1) Yes, Ranorex license server can be installed on Windows Server machine.

2) The answer on this question is 'no'. Floating license can be accessed from any computer in network, but only one user at a time can use this license! In other words, if you want multiple users to work with Ranorex at the same time, you need equal number of licenses.

Hope this helps?
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

krstcs
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 2683
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 4:14 pm
Location: Austin, Texas, USA

Re: Question about Floating License

Post by krstcs » Tue Mar 01, 2016 3:54 pm

Also, a RUNTIME license can ONLY be used to RUN tests. Users cannot actually do anything with it. You MUST have a Premium (Floating or Node-locked) license to create and edit tests.
Shortcuts usually aren't...

artur.rodrigues
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Feb 29, 2016 4:39 pm
Location: Portugal

Re: Question about Floating License

Post by artur.rodrigues » Tue Mar 08, 2016 11:18 am

Thank you all for your help.
Artur Rodrigues