Question with Testrails director call ranorex run test case

Ranorex Spy, Recorder, and Studio.
raycheng
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Aug 23, 2019 9:27 am

Question with Testrails director call ranorex run test case

Post by raycheng » Fri Aug 23, 2019 9:31 am

Hi Ranorex

I create testrail icloud account and download ranorex studio
test rails connect to ranorex - done
ranorex with test rails can import and export - done
my question is
i create one test suite and test case from test rails and automation type - ranorex

how to director when i to do test run with test rail can call ranorex to do automation (follow my step (text)

thanks

User avatar
N612
Posts: 103
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2016 4:01 pm

Re: Question with Testrails director call ranorex run test case

Post by N612 » Mon Aug 26, 2019 7:00 pm

I have not tried this but it looks like you can per their documentation:
http://docs.gurock.com/testrail-custom/ ... on-trigger

User avatar
boxblinkracer
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Aug 02, 2019 2:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Question with Testrails director call ranorex run test case

Post by boxblinkracer » Tue Aug 27, 2019 1:50 pm

Hi

I have that in use...though not for ranorex but for another framework

It basically works like this:
...you can extend the testrail user interface with ui scripts (inside the testrail administration / customizations).
these scripts are automatically executed when a testrail page is being shown

so inside that script, you basically "build" a "run tests" button and add a url to it that should be called (like they have with their sample script in the documentation)

when building that url, you also get access to use different variables such as the current test run ID
....e.g. url: "https://your-web-endpoint....?runID=" + uiscripts.context.run.id;

so when you then click on "Start Tests" in your TestRail, it will automatically send a http request to the provided link with the current test run id.

then the important thing is, what you do in that "webhook" endpoint.
you might need to differ between projects....and test runs...depending on the provided parameters (like uiscripts.context.run.id).
and depending on what you have to run.....you might just need to start the ranorex execution....or start the ranorex execution with additional parameters....thats up to you

phu i hope this makes sense :)

also, if you need to send test results back to testrail, i've created this easy nuget package. maybe it helps you

https://github.com/boxblinkracer/ranorex-testrail

cheers
christian