Questions for a global repository

Ranorex Spy, Recorder, and Studio.
steven11

Questions for a global repository

Post by steven11 » Wed Aug 25, 2010 10:01 am

Hi,

I'm new to Ranorex and have got several questions for building a global repository that can be used in several test solutions:

1. Say, I store the global repository under \Test\Repo.rxrep and update it with RanorexSpy. When I use this repository in a recording of the project (\Test\Bugs\Bug001\Bug001.csproj), Ranorex will ask me how I want to include the repository. I choose link and don't merge it. The problem is: the code-behind file will not be stored in \Test\Repo.cs. Instead Ranorex will add the source file as \Test\Bugs\Bug001\Repo.cs. This is quite bad I think because we will have lots of test projects and therefore when the repository changes all the source files would need to be updated. Is there any way to circumvent this problem?

2. Related to 1), the namespace of the generated source file is always the namespace set up in the test project. Therefore it's not possible for me to add additional code for the repository (by using the partial class feature):
In a file \Test\Repo.Additions.cs I have to use the same namespace as in the file autogenerated by RanorexSpy. But linking this source file to the project doesn't work because this namespace is always different to the autogenerated file that's used in the project...

3. Is it possible to use multiple repositories for a recording (without usercode actions)? It would be nice if I could use items of the global repository and items of a project specific repository.

Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin

Re: Questions for a global repository

Post by Support Team » Thu Aug 26, 2010 10:27 am