Random generating a key sequence

Best practices, code snippets for common functionality, examples, and guidelines.
rwn60

Random generating a key sequence

Post by rwn60 » Thu May 31, 2018 6:21 pm

Hello,
I'm new to Ranorex and C#. How would I go about generating a random "key sequence" to be applied to a GUI field and eventually saved to the database each time I "Run"? Presently, when I Run my db checks for duplicates, so on any run past 2 my GUI will display an error and the program does not run correctly after the error.

Thanks!

Vega

Re: Random generating a key sequence

Post by Vega » Thu May 31, 2018 10:06 pm

Since Ranorex is .NET based you can always refer to C# / VB.NET to do something like this. It really depends on your criteria for what you want to include in your random value... totally random alpha numeric, numeric only, append to a value etc.

Here is an example of a Random number generator which will pick a value between 5 and 10 in C#:

https://www.dotnetperls.com/random

Alternatively, you could have your test pull a value from a source that is already generating a random value like below:

http://watchout4snakes.com/wo4snakes/Random/RandomWord

So as part of your test, you could navigate to the above page and pull the Random word listed as your value. I personally wouldn't use this approach because you need to go out of your way to get the value but I just wanted to give you an idea of what was possible.

If this isn't what you were looking for, let me know more specifically what you are looking for and I'll see what I can recommend.

Vaughan.Douglas

Post by Vaughan.Douglas » Fri Jun 01, 2018 12:50 pm

To expand on what Vega mentioned, there are any number of NuGet packages available for generating all kinds of randomness.

Here is an example I use to create a pseudo Mexican social security number for an HR system I help write automation for.
/// <summary>
/// Create a string in the format of the Mexican IMSS
/// </summary>