Ranorex 4.0.1 Press Home key can't work.

Bug reports.
User avatar
sincoew
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 7:42 am

Ranorex 4.0.1 Press Home key can't work.

Post by sincoew » Thu Jan 10, 2013 10:51 am

Hi,
I try below code on ranorex 4.0.1,
{BACK} and {ENTER} key is work, but {HOME} key can't work.

Code: Select all

    repo.App.Self.PressKeys("{HOME}");
    repo.App.Self.PressKeys("{BACK}");
    repo.App.Self.PressKeys("{ENTER}");
Thanks a lot.
Best Regards,
Robert Chen.

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 12145
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Houston, Texas, USA
Contact:

Re: Ranorex 4.0.1 Press Home key can't work.

Post by Support Team » Thu Jan 10, 2013 12:00 pm

Hi,

This should normally work, can you check if the {Home} key works with for instance Firefox?
Does it work when you manually click the {Home} key?

Regards,
Markus

sameena
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2013 10:59 am

Re: Ranorex 4.0.1 Press Home key can't work.

Post by sameena » Tue Jan 07, 2014 6:18 am

hi Team,

PressKeys("{HOME}") does not work . Can you please suggest any alternative.


Thanks,
Sameena

mebner

Re: Ranorex 4.0.1 Press Home key can't work.

Post by mebner » Tue Jan 07, 2014 4:22 pm

Hi Sameena,

Which Ranorex version are you using?
Does the HOME button work at all?
Do you use a specific repository item for the press action?
What happens when you use it with Ranorex, nothing?

Regards,
Markus

darius.popa
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2014 5:15 pm

Re: Ranorex 4.0.1 Press Home key can't work.

Post by darius.popa » Mon Feb 10, 2014 9:30 am

Hello,
I have the same problem (v 4.1.4). Back button works fine but Home button not.
Are there any alternatives?

Thank you!

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 12145
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Houston, Texas, USA
Contact:

Re: Ranorex 4.0.1 Press Home key can't work.

Post by Support Team » Wed Feb 12, 2014 11:10 am

Hello,

May I ask you to answer the following questions?

Does the HOME button work at all?
Do you use a specific repository item for the press action?
What happens when you use it with Ranorex, nothing?
Does the following code work on your machine : Keyboard.Press("{Home}");?
You just need to set the focus on the specific element before you call the mentioned code.

Regards,
Markus

darius.popa
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2014 5:15 pm

Re: Ranorex 4.0.1 Press Home key can't work.

Post by darius.popa » Thu Feb 20, 2014 9:35 am

Hello Markus,

Here are my answers:
Does the HOME button work at all?
-No
Do you use a specific repository item for the press action?
-No
What happens when you use it with Ranorex, nothing?
- Nothing
Does the following code work on your machine : Keyboard.Press("{Home}");?
-No
You just need to set the focus on the specific element before you call the mentioned code.

Thank you,

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 12145
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Houston, Texas, USA
Contact:

Re: Ranorex 4.0.1 Press Home key can't work.

Post by Support Team » Thu Feb 20, 2014 4:58 pm

Hello,

Does the HOME button work at all?
I meant does it work without using Ranorex, when you manually press it?

Which HOME button do you mean?
You mean the one on the normal keyboard, right?

Are you sure you set the focus on the right element before you execute the action?

Regards,
Markus

darius.popa
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2014 5:15 pm

Re: Ranorex 4.0.1 Press Home key can't work.

Post by darius.popa » Fri Feb 21, 2014 8:39 am

Hello Markus,

Pressing manually the home button from the devices works fine.
I tried to set focus before and the same results, it's not working.
It is strange because with Back button, it works fine. Do you plan to implement interruptions (home, resume app, notifications, sms, phone calls)? It will be very useful for us.

Thank you!

Darius

krstcs
Posts: 2683
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 4:14 pm
Location: Austin, Texas, USA

Re: Ranorex 4.0.1 Press Home key can't work.

Post by krstcs » Fri Feb 21, 2014 2:23 pm

Markus, I think the question was about the HOME Button on an Android device, not the HOME Key on a PC keyboard.

My understanding is that the HOME button on an Android device is controlled by the OS, and therefore will not be available to Ranorex to be used in scripts. Is that accurate?
Shortcuts usually aren't...

darius.popa
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2014 5:15 pm

Re: Ranorex 4.0.1 Press Home key can't work.

Post by darius.popa » Fri Feb 21, 2014 2:31 pm

Yes, I'm referring to Home button from Android. I know that Ranorex cannot access OS, but the back button is working fine :-?

krstcs
Posts: 2683
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 4:14 pm
Location: Austin, Texas, USA

Re: Ranorex 4.0.1 Press Home key can't work.

Post by krstcs » Fri Feb 21, 2014 2:32 pm

The back button is accessible by the apps, but the home button is not. Android does not allow apps to do anything with the home button, so Ranorex won't be able to use it either.
Shortcuts usually aren't...

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 12145
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Houston, Texas, USA
Contact:

Re: Ranorex 4.0.1 Press Home key can't work.

Post by Support Team » Fri Feb 21, 2014 3:00 pm

Hi,

The HOME button works in general, but unfortunately not with each app and not with each Android version.
There is a problem when injecting the code to simulate the press of the HOME button.
We therefore decided to remove it from the "press action's" list of the action table with Ranorex 5.0, even though it will be possible to use it in UserCode.

You need to make sure you execute the HOME on the right(root) container element, but as I stated it could be that it will not work.

Regards,
Markus