Ranorex 6.0 licensing compatibility

Ask general questions here.
User avatar
jasoncleo
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 7:37 am

Ranorex 6.0 licensing compatibility

Post by jasoncleo » Mon May 30, 2016 3:34 am

Hi,

Our teams here are using Ranorex 5.4 with the license manager also at 5.4. Because we have several different project teams, moving at different release schedules, only one project team is at a stage where we are happy for them to consider updating to Ranorex v6.0.

Our questions are:
  • 1. Do we need to update the version of our Ranorex license server, or can we just leave that one alone?
    2. Will the one license server be able to still issue licenses where some teams are on v5.x and others are on v6.x? Or do all the teams need to move at the same time?
TIA,
Jason

zivshapirawork
Posts: 62
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2014 7:47 am
Location: Israel

Re: Ranorex 6.0 licensing compatibility

Post by zivshapirawork » Mon May 30, 2016 6:27 am

hi Jason

I was in the exact same situation as you, and I upgraded the license manager to 6.0. all 6 and 5.4 runners still got the license just fine.

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3922
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Ranorex 6.0 licensing compatibility

Post by odklizec » Mon May 30, 2016 7:02 am

Hi,

Ranorex 6.0 also works OK with 5.x license manager.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

User avatar
jasoncleo
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 7:37 am

Re: Ranorex 6.0 licensing compatibility

Post by jasoncleo » Mon May 30, 2016 7:20 am

Awesome. Thank you both for replying and letting me know. :D