Ranorex 6.0 - Not allow to copy/paste modules or test cases

Bug reports.
wlijo
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu May 07, 2015 8:50 pm

Ranorex 6.0 - Not allow to copy/paste modules or test cases

Post by wlijo » Tue May 17, 2016 4:19 pm

Hi,

After upgrade Ranorex from 5.4 to 6.0 my solution was upgraded, but could not copy/paste drag and drop or reorder modules or tes case in the Project View.

Afer close the solution and open again it works as expected.

Regards.

Walter

Martin
Posts: 152
Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2014 12:24 pm

Re: Ranorex 6.0 - Not allow to copy/paste modules or test cases

Post by Martin » Wed May 18, 2016 7:37 am

Seems that very much related to this:

http://www.ranorex.com/forum/ranorex-6- ... t9393.html

wlijo
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu May 07, 2015 8:50 pm

Re: Ranorex 6.0 - Not allow to copy/paste modules or test cases

Post by wlijo » Wed May 18, 2016 1:02 pm

Martin wrote:Seems that very much related to this:

http://www.ranorex.com/forum/ranorex-6- ... t9393.html

Hi Martin, not really, I could open the different tabs without problem.

do you still having the same problem? the solution for me was close and open Ranorex

I'm using Windows 7 professional.

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Ranorex 6.0 - Not allow to copy/paste modules or test cases

Post by Support Team » Thu May 19, 2016 12:46 pm

Hello wlijo,

Thank you for reporting the issue.
Would you mind trying to re-install Ranorex (uninstall Ranorex, reboot your machine and install Ranorex again)?
Does the issue also occur with a new Ranorex solution, or only with your existing solution? The issue might also be related to the .NET Framework. If re-installing Ranorex doesn't help you can also try to re-install the .NET Framework.

Regards,
Bernhard
.
Image

wlijo
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu May 07, 2015 8:50 pm

Re: Ranorex 6.0 - Not allow to copy/paste modules or test cases

Post by wlijo » Thu May 19, 2016 8:15 pm

Hi,

At this time, after close Ranorex for first time, it started to work well.

If you think it is necessary re-install Ranorex I can do it, just let me know, but I cannot reproduce the issue.

Regards,
Walter

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Ranorex 6.0 - Not allow to copy/paste modules or test cases

Post by Support Team » Fri May 20, 2016 11:59 am

Hi Walter,

Thank you for the information. If it works now, there is no need to re-install Ranorex. Please let us know if this happens again.

Regards,
Bernhard
.
Image

fester13579
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2014 10:29 pm

Re: Ranorex 6.0 - Not allow to copy/paste modules or test cases

Post by fester13579 » Mon Jun 06, 2016 7:48 pm

For what its worth I am having the same issues with copy and paste as well as the tabs issue

http://www.ranorex.com/forum/ranorex-6- ... t9393.html

Closing and reopen of Ranorex does nothing for my issues.

At the moment the only way i can duplicate a recording module is to make a new target then copy the steps from the source into the the target recording.

For the tabs issue, I have to click the 'View test suite' button then go into my recording manually.

The copy paste bug is 100% of the time, and the tabs issue is random.


* Windows 2012 R2 (Brand new install of OS and brand new project)
* Ranorex 6.0 (using floating lic)

krstcs
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 2683
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 4:14 pm
Location: Austin, Texas, USA

Re: Ranorex 6.0 - Not allow to copy/paste modules or test cases

Post by krstcs » Mon Jun 06, 2016 9:09 pm

You should NOT copy and paste modules. Ranorex uses GUIDs (Globally Unique IDs) behind the scenes to identify almost everything (modules, groups, test cases, variables, data connectors, etc.). When you copy a module file, you are also copying the GUIDs to the new module, which can cause unforeseen issues because Ranorex will not be able to identify objects correctly.

Making a new module and copying the steps over is the appropriate way to make a 'copy' of a module.

However, I would suggest that if you are copying the module withing the same test suite, you might want to rethink it. The point of modules is to make the system 'modular' so that the recordings can be reused wherever needed. If you can make the modules more generic, they can be reused over and over.
Shortcuts usually aren't...

fester13579
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2014 10:29 pm

Re: Ranorex 6.0 - Not allow to copy/paste modules or test cases

Post by fester13579 » Tue Jun 07, 2016 4:12 pm

Thanks for the advice. some times i want to duplicate a recording to back it up before making changes.

The solution for me was to create a new folder then copy and paste into the new folder then rename or keep the copy in that folder if i need to revert to my old version.

krstcs
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 2683
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 4:14 pm
Location: Austin, Texas, USA

Re: Ranorex 6.0 - Not allow to copy/paste modules or test cases

Post by krstcs » Tue Jun 07, 2016 4:17 pm

The better solution to change management is to use a version control system like Git or Subversion.

You are developing software (test automation software, using Ranorex as a library/IDE), you need to treat it like any other development project and keep it in version control. This will save you from all sorts of man-made issues and headaches in the future. :D

You can always create a test branch and mess around and then delete the branch, in any of these systems. Or you can make a specific branch each time you need to make a change, change the code, and then merge the branch back into you master branch once you have tested it and made sure it works the way you want. And if it doesn't you can, again, just delete it and start back at the base-line.
Shortcuts usually aren't...