Ranorex 6 Test run - randomly pause on a delay step

Ask general questions here.
David
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue May 31, 2016 8:53 pm

Ranorex 6 Test run - randomly pause on a delay step

Post by David » Tue May 31, 2016 9:32 pm

Hi ,I created a simple code module for a testing, but when run the test(loop 100 times) from the studio, the test randomly paused on a delay step.

Any help is appreciated.

Ranorex 6 Trial
Code module:
for (int i = 0; i < 100; i++) {

repo.Win.Element994.Click("70;154");

Keyboard.Press(System.Windows.Forms.Keys.C | System.Windows.Forms.Keys.Control, Keyboard.DefaultScanCode, Keyboard.DefaultKeyPressTime, 1, true);

Delay.Duration(500, false);

Keyboard.Press(System.Windows.Forms.Keys.V | System.Windows.Forms.Keys.Control, Keyboard.DefaultScanCode, Keyboard.DefaultKeyPressTime, 1, true);

Report.Log(ReportLevel.Info, "Delay", "Waiting for 10s.", new RecordItemIndex(7));
Delay.Duration(10000, false); ---Randomly stop on this step, cannot continue.

jma
Posts: 111
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2015 9:18 am

Re: Ranorex 6 Test run - randomly pause on a delay step

Post by jma » Fri Jun 03, 2016 7:05 am

Hi,
How often do you have this issue? Respectively does it also happen for the first iterations? Is it reproducible on a regular basis?

I would suggest using the debugging functionality of Ranorex Studio to figure out where exactly the execution stops. Probably there is an issue with the following lines of code after the delay.

tejas.deshpande
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri May 20, 2016 9:43 am

Re: Ranorex 6 Test run - randomly pause on a delay step

Post by tejas.deshpande » Thu Jun 09, 2016 11:44 am

I faced the same issue but couldn't understand it.
My test pauses on "Waiting for (0) ms".
Can anyone please find what is wrong?
Also has anyone observed this in previous versions of Ranorex?

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3908
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Ranorex 6 Test run - randomly pause on a delay step

Post by odklizec » Thu Jun 09, 2016 12:04 pm

Hi,

Could you please verify (by debugging your code/additional console outputs) that the issue is really caused by "Delay" method and not by something else, like repository item search? There is a similar discussion >here<, which turned out to be a FindElement method issue and not "Delay" related problem.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration