Ranorex 9.0 & multiple monitors

Ask general questions here.
SanMan
Posts: 200
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2010 9:59 am

Ranorex 9.0 & multiple monitors

Post by SanMan » Tue Feb 26, 2019 11:38 am

I have a laptop + 2 monitors.

When checking report and screenshot, they are sometimes taken randomly from another monitor where browser is not runned.

Is there some setting for multiple monitors?

User avatar
N612
Posts: 90
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2016 4:01 pm

Re: Ranorex 9.0 & multiple monitors

Post by N612 » Tue Feb 26, 2019 7:58 pm

Based on my experience, Ranorex tries to take the most logical screenshot to help you understand why there was a failure without having to rerun the test. Below is the behavior I have noticed:
  • If an element is found, a screenshot is taken of said element
  • If an element is not found, a screenshot of the monitor the cursor is currently located within is taken
  • If no element is selected for a 'Capture Screenshot' action, a screenshot of all monitors is taken
Also, the new screen recording feature can also help you understand why this may have been a failure without having to watch the playback live.

SanMan
Posts: 200
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2010 9:59 am

Re: Ranorex 9.0 & multiple monitors

Post by SanMan » Wed Feb 27, 2019 6:35 am

Thank you very much for clear answer.