Ranorex 9.0 & Slack

Ask general questions here.
SanMan
Posts: 204
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2010 9:59 am

Ranorex 9.0 & Slack

Post by SanMan » Tue Feb 26, 2019 11:35 am

When updated to 9.0, seems that there are something strange with Slack & Ranorex.

Sometimes when item should be found on Chrome, it is found on Slack. When Slack is closed, test cases pass.

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 5345
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Ranorex 9.0 & Slack

Post by odklizec » Tue Feb 26, 2019 12:12 pm

Hi,

Have you tried to add Chrome process to the Ranorex white list? Once on white list, Ranorex should ignore any other process.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 12002
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Ranorex 9.0 & Slack

Post by Support Team » Tue Feb 26, 2019 5:21 pm

Hi SanMan,

This is a known issue that was caused by Electron-based applications (which includes Slack). We have already implemented a bug fix which will be included in the upcoming Ranorex 8.3 and 9.0 releases. In the meantime, using the white list feature as mentioned by odklizec is the recommended workaround.

Cheers,
Ned
.
Image