Ranorex agent on a workgroup VM

Ask general questions here.
russ
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jun 25, 2019 6:33 pm

Ranorex agent on a workgroup VM

Post by russ » Mon Jun 01, 2020 2:22 pm

Hi,

Is there any way for Ranorex to recognize a remote VM that is only on a Workgroup? I can still reach the internet and our development websites, but I am still getting the message for the licence manager can't be contacted.

Issue I has is that we have a security rule that anything on the domain has to lock after a standard 15 minutes, so I got another VM set up on a workgroup that bypasses this policy. I realize that ranorex requires machines that don't lock to run tests remotely.

My question is:

Does the machine have to be on a domain, so that it can be recognized by pinging (in this case I can't reach it, but others on the domain work fine until locking)?

If it needs to be on the domain, this is an issue as our IT department will not circumvent the locking rule for one PC.

Thanks
Russ

User avatar
Stub
Posts: 378
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2016 1:35 pm

Re: Ranorex agent on a workgroup VM

Post by Stub » Tue Jun 02, 2020 8:33 am

Does the box auto-lock itself even when Ranorex is running its tests? You can use something like LogonExpert to unlock the desktop prior to running the tests, then have it lock the desktop once the test run is completed. That's what we do here, but we don't use Ranorex Agent yet.

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 12154
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Ranorex agent on a workgroup VM

Post by Support Team » Tue Jun 02, 2020 8:34 am

Hello Russ,

If you cannot ping the machine where the license manger is installed, Ranorex will not be able to establish a connection between the Ranorex License Manager and the client where the test is running. In general, it is possible to install the Ranorex License Manager (and the license) on the same machine where the test is running (on your client). Ranorex can lease the license from the localhost and you could bypass the network issue this way.

Regards,
Bernhard
.
Image