Ranorex and Edge

Ranorex Spy, Recorder, and Studio.
Vincent
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2018 5:28 pm

Ranorex and Edge

Post by Vincent » Wed Nov 21, 2018 5:40 pm

Hello,
I using mainly capture&replay for testing our webpage.
With the new Ranorex 8.3 it is possible to test with Edge.
I start the tests with the 'open browser' action.

The problem now: When Edge losses the focus wthin a long test (for instance starting the explorer window in between the test)
the test can not continue with the next teststeps with Edge.

Did anybody have a good idea?

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 4047
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Ranorex and Edge

Post by odklizec » Thu Nov 22, 2018 8:20 am

Hi,

What exactly do you mean by this...
"the test can not continue with the next teststeps with Edge"
Is there an error message in report?
Have you tried most recent Ranorex 8.3.1, which solves many 8.3.0 bugs?
And finally, are you sure you have both MicrosoftEdge and MicrosoftEdgeCP processes in Ranorex whitelist?
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

Vincent
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2018 5:28 pm

Re: Ranorex and Edge

Post by Vincent » Thu Nov 22, 2018 10:04 am

Hello,
it works with the update to the version 8.3.1

thank you!

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 4047
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Ranorex and Edge

Post by odklizec » Thu Nov 22, 2018 10:11 am

You are welcome. I'm glad the hot fix helped ;) There are two Edge related fixes mentioned in the release notes...
Fixed issue in Edge where EnsureVisible would not work for top-level forms
Fixed Edge automation for Windows 10 Build 1607
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration