Ranorex and Flash on windows 8.1

Technology specific object identification, supported applications, web technologies, and 3rd party controls.
alan722
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2015 1:34 pm

Ranorex and Flash on windows 8.1

Post by alan722 » Mon Jan 26, 2015 2:24 pm

Hi Guys,

I am having problems with Ranorex spy not being able to identifying flash elements on web browser.
I have already been through ranorex instrumentation wizard but for some reason every time I try using spy
to identify flash element the instrumentation wizard keeps popping up.

The same flash element I can identify it without a problem on my other windows 7 machine.

Is anyone else experiencing the same issue?

Here are my machine specs for windows 8.1
Windows 8.1 Enterprise 64 bit
Intel Core i5-4200m 2.50GHz
8GB Ram

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Ranorex and Flash on windows 8.1

Post by Support Team » Tue Jan 27, 2015 10:04 am

Hello alan722,

May I ask which browser and which version of Ranorex you are currently using?

Thanks,
Robert
.
Image

alan722
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2015 1:34 pm

Re: Ranorex and Flash on windows 8.1

Post by alan722 » Wed Jan 28, 2015 7:56 am

I am using Ranorex 5.2.2
Internet Explorer 11.0.9600.16384

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Ranorex and Flash on windows 8.1

Post by Support Team » Thu Jan 29, 2015 2:55 pm

Hi alan722,

Which version of the Flash debug player are you using?
Can you please "Enable Flash Trace Log" in the instrumentation wizard.

Please also read the section "Using the Ranorex PreLoader" and check if the mm.config file contains the correct path to the RanorexAutomation.swf file.

Regards,
Bernhard
.
Image

alan722
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2015 1:34 pm

Re: Ranorex and Flash on windows 8.1

Post by alan722 » Mon Feb 02, 2015 12:39 pm

Hi,

yes I've checked and everything that is required has been setup correctly.

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Ranorex and Flash on windows 8.1

Post by Support Team » Tue Feb 03, 2015 1:22 pm

Hello alan,

is it possible to send us the Trace log file?
I would also try to uninstall the flash player completely from your machine using the Uninstaller for Flash Player.
Please run the uninstaller and restart your machine afterwards.

Please also delete the following directories manually
  • C:\Windows\SysWOW64\Macromed\Flash
  • C:\Windows\system32\Macromed\Flash
  • C:\Users\User\AppData\Roaming\Adobe\Flash Player
  • C:\Users\User\AppData\Roaming\Macromedia\Flash Player
After doing so you can start the instrumentation wizard again.
If this also doesn't help it would make sense to have a remote session in order to analyze the issue on your machine.

Regards,
Bernhard
.
Image

alan722
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2015 1:34 pm

Re: Ranorex and Flash on windows 8.1

Post by alan722 » Wed Feb 11, 2015 9:10 am

Hi,

I've attached the flash log trace file.

By looking at it I can tell that it's somehow looking for the RanorexAutomation.swf file from C:\Program Files instead of C:\Proram Files (x86) which has been set inside the mm.cfg file.

Any idea why this is happening?
Attachments
flashlog.txt
(344 Bytes) Downloaded 69 times

alan722
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2015 1:34 pm

Re: Ranorex and Flash on windows 8.1

Post by alan722 » Wed Feb 11, 2015 9:19 am

Ok I managed to get it to work.

I pasted the swf and swc file from the Program Files (x86) Directory and created the same directory in Program Files and pasted the files there.

Is this some kind of bug that I've just found? :D