Ranorex And Memory Leaks

Ask general questions here.
schemer1
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2013 12:05 pm

Ranorex And Memory Leaks

Post by schemer1 » Tue Sep 10, 2013 11:31 am

Hi,

When we're running some of our long running tests we get messages such as 'out of memory', 'thread failed to start' and 'invalid parameter'. There is nothing wrong specifically with the tests as they work Ok for hours and for multiple iterations, they also work on different versions of Hardware.
What I'd like to be able to do is to see if the errors are caused by memory leaks in the application under test or within our Ranorex code. I've downloaded 'Ants' a memory profiler but can't seem to get it to start my test.exe. It just opens up a blank dos window. Has anybody got an experience of memory profiling with Ranorex tests please.
Thanks

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Ranorex And Memory Leaks

Post by Support Team » Wed Sep 11, 2013 4:32 pm

Hello,

Which version of Ranorex do you use?
It seems to be related with a known issue in Ranorex 4.1.0: http://www.ranorex.com/forum/ranorex-st ... t5108.html

This issue will be fixed in our next release.
Thank you for your patience.

Regards,
Markus (T)
.
Image

schemer1
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2013 12:05 pm

Re: Ranorex And Memory Leaks

Post by schemer1 » Thu Sep 12, 2013 11:34 am

We are using v4.0.5
Thanks

schemer1
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2013 12:05 pm

Re: Ranorex And Memory Leaks

Post by schemer1 » Tue Sep 24, 2013 11:42 am

We may have found the solution to our Memory Leak issue. When running Ranorex it's stores all it's test case execution logging information in memory, when the test finishes the log file actually gets written. Therefore when we run our tests without logging, the test completes. This is obviously only part of the answer, as we actually required all the information from the test run. You can disable logging at the test suite level and insert code into the program class to enable the 'old' style logging. The old style logging actually writes the log file as it goes rather than holding all the information in memory. We've yet to find any issues with the old style logging.

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Ranorex And Memory Leaks

Post by Support Team » Wed Sep 25, 2013 1:48 pm

Hello,

Thank you for the information. As I know one of my colleague is already in touch with you regarding this problem.
I hope we can find the cause of this issue together as soon as possible.
Thank you!

Regards,
Bernhard
.
Image