Ranorex and Neoload Intergration

Ranorex Spy, Recorder, and Studio.
Andrew Simpson
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Dec 03, 2015 11:58 am

Ranorex and Neoload Intergration

Post by Andrew Simpson » Wed Apr 05, 2017 10:53 am

Hi :)

Ranorex version: 6.1.0
System: local VM and remote VM running Windows Server 2012r2
Source control and CI: VSO 2013, MTM 2013,


I'm in the process of trying to integrate our existing automated suite, I should mention at this point that the tests centralize around windows based software so first thing I need to know is whether this is actually possible as running through the neoload tutorials it appears as though they are designed for web applications.

The error I'm getting is with the ConnectToRuntimeAPI module
The module 'ConnectToRuntimeApi' (with ID {0e3400b0-d8d5-406d-a350-a9978fab51ab}) could not be found. The following errors occurred loading the assemblies: Could not load file or assembly 'Ranorex.Core, Version=7.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=b798506b574ebc9a' or one of its dependencies. The system cannot find the file specified., Could not load file or assembly 'System.Runtime, Version=2.6.10.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=b03f5f7f11d50a3a' or one of its dependencies. The system cannot find the file specified..
I have added the extra text to app.config and bound the runtimeapi variable with the correct runtime API address from preferences in neoload, Ive attached pictures of these

Please let me know if you need any more information

Thanks
Attachments
boundvariables.GIF
Bound variables
boundvariables.GIF (20.92 KiB) Viewed 961 times
app.GIF
the edit to the app config file
app.GIF (41.22 KiB) Viewed 961 times
RanorexAPIError.PNG
Error when running test
RanorexAPIError.PNG (46.65 KiB) Viewed 964 times

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3921
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Ranorex and Neoload Intergration

Post by odklizec » Wed Apr 05, 2017 11:43 am

Hi,

At first, Ranorex 6.1 is quite old and no longer supported. Additionally, there was a problem with Ranorex & NeoLoad integration, which a I believe affected 6.1.1 (I'm not sure about 6.1)? So you should update Ranorex with at least 6.1.2, or even better, last supported versions 6.2.1 or most recent 7.0.

Also, I noticed that the error message mentions 'Ranorex.Core, Version=7.0.0.0'? It indicates to me that you already installed Ranorex 7.0 and then maybe uninstalled it and installed back 6.x version? In this case, the installation process probably failed and there are still left some Ranorex 7 references?

BTW, please keep in mind that Ranorex 6.x cannot be installed and used along with installed 7.0 (and vice versa)!
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

Andrew Simpson
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Dec 03, 2015 11:58 am

Re: Ranorex and Neoload Intergration

Post by Andrew Simpson » Wed Apr 05, 2017 1:36 pm

Hi,

Thanks for that, strangely I wasn't even aware that version 7 had been released so I did wonder why that was ref'd in the app.config file. I will update to ver7 and note whether that fixes the issue.

Thanks