Ranorex and Vista

Class library usage, coding and language questions.
behdad
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 10:56 pm
Location: Australia

Ranorex and Vista

Post by behdad » Fri Apr 27, 2007 6:47 am

Hello,

How can someone interact with Vista UAC using Ranorex?

Has anyone tried it?

Of course you can't spy on it as when the UAC is up, the Ranorex spy is not accessible.

Any clues?

Thanks in advance.

Cheers,
Behdad.

admin
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 350
Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2006 7:44 pm

Post by admin » Sun Apr 29, 2007 7:24 pm

Hi Behdad,

We made several tests with Windows Vista. Ranorex should also work if UAC is enabled.
A new RanorexSpy with some new features will come in the next release.
We tested the new Spy also with Vista.

You can download the new RanorexSpy at the following link:
http://www.ranorex.com/download/Ranorex ... -Beta1.exe

Please try it and give us a feedback.

thanks,
Gabor
RanorexTeam

behdad
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 10:56 pm
Location: Australia

Post by behdad » Sun Apr 29, 2007 11:19 pm

Hi Gabor,

Thank you for the solution. It almost does work. You can use the control to
stop the hot tracking, however, the information on the spy dialog doesn't seem to be correct.

For example when spied on a UAC Cancel button, the element was showing as listview.

Thanks.
Behdad.

admin
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 350
Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2006 7:44 pm

Post by admin » Mon Apr 30, 2007 6:51 pm

Hi Behdad,
It almost does work.
Thanks for this info.

We could reproduce and fixed this bug.
You can download a new Beta version from:
http://www.ranorex.com/download/Ranorex ... -Beta2.exe

Please try it and give us a feedback.

thanks,
Gabor
RanorexTeam

behdad
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 10:56 pm
Location: Australia

Post by behdad » Tue May 01, 2007 1:55 am

Hi Gabor,

Thank you for following this up. It still doesn't show the correct information.
To test this, I launch the spy, then I go to the Start menu and find the Command Prompt menu item where I right click on it and choose to run it as administrator. At this stage the UAC pops up.

Now you can click Control to stop the hot tracking.

I am not so sure if it is possible for the spy to get this information because as far as I am aware I think what microsoft does is before they display the UAC, they take a snapshot of the user's screen, then they switch to another desktop which is in another thread, then they display the snapshot to prevent any activity(i.e message) to go through. So I don't know how the spy can work its way through.

Please let me know what you think. I hope I am wrong.

Thank you.

Cheers,
Behdad.

admin
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 350
Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2006 7:44 pm

Post by admin » Wed May 02, 2007 7:41 pm

Hi Behdad,

I'm sorry but i think you are right. I made several tests with Vista and couldn't capture the UAC dialog. It seems that microsoft blocks all messages before poping up such dialogs.

In Windows XP you could solve such problems with a windows service running in session 0. But it seems that is disallowed in windows vista:
http://www.microsoft.com/whdc/system/vi ... vices.mspx

Gabor
Ranorex Team