Ranorex - Android - Touch on button does not work

Ranorex Spy, Recorder, and Studio.
ppandian
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2015 11:33 pm

Ranorex - Android - Touch on button does not work

Post by ppandian » Mon Jan 19, 2015 8:39 pm

Hi,
I am using Ranorex 5.2 evaluation version.

I have an android application that has a login page with "Login" Button.
I could record login to Home Page of the application. When I play I see it touches Login button but the Home Page of the application does not open.

I see the code behind has a "Touch" action .

Is there any other action I need to perform in this case.

Thanks
Pushpa

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Ranorex - Android - Touch on button does not work

Post by Support Team » Tue Jan 20, 2015 2:18 pm

Hello Pushpa,

May I ask you to create a Ranorex snapshot of your application under test? This would allow us to get an overview about the structure of your app. Information on how to create such a snapshot file can be found here.

Instead of the Touch()-action you could try to use an Invoke action. For example if the element is recognize as a “button” you could invoke the Press() method.
InvokeAction_Press.png
InvokeAction_Press.png (2 KiB) Viewed 1271 times
Regards,
Robert
.
Image

ppandian
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2015 11:33 pm

Re: Ranorex - Android - Touch on button does not work

Post by ppandian » Tue Jan 20, 2015 4:16 pm

Hello Robert,
The Touch action has been recorded for the element "Login Button"
I do not see "Press" method for the element in the Ranorex Wizard.
I have attached the screenshot.
Thanks
Pushpa
Attachments
Android error.png
Screenshot
Android error.png (187.26 KiB) Viewed 1267 times

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Ranorex - Android - Touch on button does not work

Post by Support Team » Wed Jan 21, 2015 10:35 am

Hello Pushpa,

Just drag&drop your login repository element to the action table and choose Invoke Action -> "PerformClick".

Regards,
Robert
.
Image

ppandian
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2015 11:33 pm

Re: Ranorex - Android - Touch on button does not work

Post by ppandian » Wed Jan 21, 2015 3:16 pm

Hi,
It did not work.
I have attached the log.
We can notice the failure is happening after "Invoking PerformClick()" action.
Thanks
Pushpa

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Ranorex - Android - Touch on button does not work

Post by Support Team » Fri Jan 23, 2015 10:58 am

Hi Pushpa,

Unfortunately, it seems like attaching your log didn't work. May I ask you to upload it again?

Regards,
Robert
.
Image

ppandian
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2015 11:33 pm

Re: Ranorex - Android - Touch on button does not work

Post by ppandian » Fri Jan 23, 2015 3:20 pm

Hi Robert,
I tried to attach again.
Is there an email address I can sent to.

Thanks
Pushpa

ppandian
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2015 11:33 pm

Re: Ranorex - Android - Touch on button does not work

Post by ppandian » Fri Jan 23, 2015 3:26 pm

Hi,
When I attach the file I get an error message:
"The extension rxzlog is not allowed."

How should I attach log file from Ranorex.
Thanks
Pushpa

ppandian
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2015 11:33 pm

Re: Ranorex - Android - Touch on button does not work

Post by ppandian » Fri Jan 23, 2015 4:47 pm

Hi Robert,
I believe, we are having Xamarin based Android Application. Do you think that could be the reason for this unexpected behavior of the application.

Thanks
Pushpa

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Ranorex - Android - Touch on button does not work

Post by Support Team » Mon Jan 26, 2015 4:27 pm

Hello Pushpa,

Generally, if your application was instrumented correctly you should be able to automate Xamarin based applications.

Please send the *.rxzlog as well as a Ranorex snapshot to [email protected]

Thanks,
Robert
.
Image

ppandian
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2015 11:33 pm

Re: Ranorex - Android - Touch on button does not work

Post by ppandian » Tue Jan 27, 2015 9:37 pm

Hello Robert,
I attached the log to [email protected]
How should I instrument a xamarin based android application.

Thanks
Pushpa

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Ranorex - Android - Touch on button does not work

Post by Support Team » Fri Jan 30, 2015 12:41 pm

Hi all,

Just to keep you up-to-date, we are already in contact with Pushpa by email. This posting will be updated as soon as we were able to resolve the problem.

Regards,
Markus (S)
.
Image