Ranorex Build Time

Bug reports.
puniar
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2019 12:51 pm

Ranorex Build Time

Post by puniar » Mon Oct 07, 2019 9:59 am

Ranorex Version: 9.1.0
OS: Windows 10, 64 Bit
RAM: 32 GB

With the above configuration and version of Ranorex the build time takes longer than usual. The CPU usage jumps right up to 100% within no time and the system just goes into a unusable state while building the solution. Whereas the console output mentions the build time between 12-14 seconds, to get back to the original state to use the Ranorex Studio it takes around 4-5 minutes of time. There is no log or report wherein we can do analysis of what this Build activity is carrying out. The default log path "Documents/Ranorex/Logs" doesn't have much information either.

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 5282
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Ranorex Build Time

Post by odklizec » Mon Oct 07, 2019 12:24 pm

Hi,

At first, try update Ranorex with most recent 9.1.2. It may not help with your issue, but you may never know without trying it ;)

At next, are you using source control integration in Ranorex Studio (GIT, TFS, etc...)?

The project you are building up, is located on a physical or network drive?

And finally, how big is the project?

Oh an d one more thing... Does it happen on another computer too?
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

puniar
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2019 12:51 pm

Re: Ranorex Build Time

Post by puniar » Wed Oct 09, 2019 11:56 am

Upgrade, Yes I will try to work on it.

Source Control: Yes, we are working with GIT integrated.
Project Location: Physical Drive
Project Size: The project has 100 recording modules and 26-30 test suites. Here the recording modules are into a different solution and Test Suites into another. So we're building them together, its one after the other.
Yes, this does happen in all of the computers where people work on.

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 5282
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Ranorex Build Time

Post by odklizec » Wed Oct 09, 2019 12:05 pm

Hi,

Aside of upgrading Ranorex, I would suggest to disable/remove GIT integration in Ranorex Studio.

Another thing you might try, is building solution outside Ranorex Studio (using MS Build cmd line). Just to find out if the problem is caused by Ranorex Studio itself (maybe GIT integration) or MSBuild as such?

Also, it may be good to examine Ranorex Studio debug logs...
RxDebugLogs.png
RxDebugLogs.png (19.74 KiB) Viewed 115 times
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

puniar
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2019 12:51 pm

Re: Ranorex Build Time

Post by puniar » Wed Oct 09, 2019 1:59 pm

Thanks.
I will give a it a try of removing the GIT Integration. But looks like I've to uninstall the Tortoise Git tool for that.
Secondly, the MS Build execution is too fast and not much time delay there. So the problem seems to be with Ranorex Studio.
I have enabled the Log level to Trace.
The log mentions some wait time for a process to exit,
RanorexStudioLog.png
RanorexStudioLog.png (81.33 KiB) Viewed 114 times
Secondly there are TestSuite XML Invalid Format errors after every build process completion.
TestSuiteInvalid.PNG
TestSuiteInvalid.PNG (24.55 KiB) Viewed 114 times
Apart from these I couldn't get much from the logs. Or I have not read the logs correctly? :?

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 5282
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Ranorex Build Time

Post by odklizec » Wed Oct 09, 2019 2:18 pm

Hi,

I'm afraid, I don't know what these errors mean, but they could very well be a source of the slowness. I think it's something to discuss with Ranorex support?

Have you tried to completely uninstall and reinstall Ranorex? Also, make sure, there are installed all required runtime and .Net libs, as mentioned here:
https://www.ranorex.com/help/latest/ran ... uirements/

And as for removing version control system integration, you don't have to uninstall Tortoise Git tool. All you have to do is to right click project (root) node and form the appeared context menu, select Source Control >> Remove Source Control Binding item.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

puniar
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2019 12:51 pm

Re: Ranorex Build Time

Post by puniar » Wed Oct 09, 2019 2:49 pm

Removed TortoiseGit and build the solution again with Studio. Still there is no improvement in the same. :(

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 5282
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Ranorex Build Time

Post by odklizec » Wed Oct 09, 2019 3:44 pm

Hi,

Well, if uninstalling/reinstalling Ranorex and all required system libs does not help either, then I think your best hope is to contact Ranorex support?
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

puniar
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2019 12:51 pm

Re: Ranorex Build Time

Post by puniar » Mon Oct 14, 2019 6:54 am

Thanks Pavel.
Will try to reach the support team on this one.