Ranorex can't identify element under table header cell

Bug reports.
alex
Posts: 63
Joined: Sat Oct 08, 2011 11:17 am

Ranorex can't identify element under table header cell

Post by alex » Tue Feb 07, 2012 10:19 am

Hi,
I'm using Ranorex 3.2.1 to test Flex apps. I found two issues.
1. Ranorex can't identify element under table header cell.
2. The element Ranorex identified under header cell is same as the first row cell.
Please refer to snapshot for details.
Attachments
table.rxsnp
(80.2 KiB) Downloaded 184 times

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Ranorex can't identify element under table header cell

Post by Support Team » Tue Feb 07, 2012 11:17 am

Hi,

of course the element identified under tables header is the first row.
Which element would you expect to be identified as element under table header?

Regards,
Tobias
Ranorex Support Team
.
Image

alex
Posts: 63
Joined: Sat Oct 08, 2011 11:17 am

Re: Ranorex can't identify element under table header cell

Post by alex » Tue Feb 07, 2012 4:03 pm

Correction: the first row cell should be the second row cell.

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Ranorex can't identify element under table header cell

Post by Support Team » Tue Feb 07, 2012 4:39 pm

alex wrote:Correction: the first row cell should be the second row cell.
Sorry, but I can't follow you.
Can you please explain what you mean exactly?

Regards,
Tobias
Ranorex Support Team
.
Image

alex
Posts: 63
Joined: Sat Oct 08, 2011 11:17 am

Re: Ranorex can't identify element under table header cell

Post by alex » Wed Feb 08, 2012 2:10 am

You can see that row cell and header cell have the same sub-elements.
And the elements under header cell can't be identified.
Attachments
rowcell&headercell.png
rowcell&headercell.png (9.69 KiB) Viewed 977 times

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Ranorex can't identify element under table header cell

Post by Support Team » Wed Feb 08, 2012 2:46 pm

Hi,
You can see that row cell and header cell have the same sub-elements.
This is a normal behavior, because the first column exists of the first cells of all available rows and the header of the specific column.
And the elements under header cell can't be identified.
As we can see from your snapshot all available elements were identified and showed by Ranorex.
Can you show us which elements cannot be identified, maybe you can send us a screen shot of these elements?

Regards,
Markus
Ranorex Support Team
.
Image

alex
Posts: 63
Joined: Sat Oct 08, 2011 11:17 am

Re: Ranorex can't identify element under table header cell

Post by alex » Tue Feb 14, 2012 4:32 am

Hi,
Please see screenshots.
Thanks.
Alex.
Attachments
screenshot1.png
screenshot1.png (27.73 KiB) Viewed 962 times
screenshot.png
screenshot.png (126.99 KiB) Viewed 962 times

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Ranorex can't identify element under table header cell

Post by Support Team » Tue Feb 14, 2012 2:13 pm

Hi,

Okay now I see, thanks for the screenshot!
Can you send us a small sample app of that table, or do you know which control it is?
If you want to click on that arrow you can as workaround perform a relative click on the parent control, in your case the specific "Cell 'String'".

Regards,
Markus
Ranorex Support Team
.
Image

alex
Posts: 63
Joined: Sat Oct 08, 2011 11:17 am

Re: Ranorex can't identify element under table header cell

Post by alex » Wed Feb 15, 2012 4:41 am

Hi,
Sorry that I can't send any code to you. I'm not a developer and can't reach the code.

Now I'm using relative position to click it.

Thanks.

Alex