Ranorex.Core.Constants.CodeGenVersion not working

Ask general questions here.
Filipe Mendes
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jul 16, 2019 3:24 pm

Ranorex.Core.Constants.CodeGenVersion not working

Post by Filipe Mendes » Thu Aug 15, 2019 3:58 pm

Hi,

I have an application using Ranorex 9.1.0. It works fine on local machine.

However when I use Visual Studio Source Control to Check In the changes, I receive multiple errors that "Constants" does not exist in Ranorex.Core.
Error CS0234. (
Automation\cytof\Common\CheckNoCyTOFProcess.cs(61,80): Error CS0234: The type or namespace name 'Constants' does not exist in the namespace 'Ranorex.Core' (are you missing an assembly reference?))

Any help?

Thanks,

Filipe

User avatar
N612
Posts: 103
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2016 4:01 pm

Re: Ranorex.Core.Constants.CodeGenVersion not working

Post by N612 » Fri Aug 16, 2019 8:39 pm

This error is a build/compile error, not a source control error. Are you pushing the changes from a one machine, pulling them on another, then trying to build the test? Is the same version of Ranorex installed on both machines (this is required for building the project)?

If these are not the steps you are following, please provide a step-by-step guide of exactly what you are doing so we may better understand what may be occurring.

Filipe Mendes
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jul 16, 2019 3:24 pm

Re: Ranorex.Core.Constants.CodeGenVersion not working

Post by Filipe Mendes » Tue Aug 20, 2019 8:40 pm

Thank you for your response.
I believe the issue is because I have Ranorex 9.1.0 installed on my local machine and on Azure the agent's version is 7.1.
We will update the agent's version and try again.

Regards

Filipe

Filipe Mendes
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jul 16, 2019 3:24 pm

Re: Ranorex.Core.Constants.CodeGenVersion not working

Post by Filipe Mendes » Wed Aug 21, 2019 6:22 pm

Hi,

I have installed the same version of Ranorex on both machines (9.1.0) but I am still having the same error.

Thanks,

Filipe

User avatar
N612
Posts: 103
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2016 4:01 pm

Re: Ranorex.Core.Constants.CodeGenVersion not working

Post by N612 » Thu Aug 22, 2019 11:46 pm

We need to eliminate a few possible culprits and narrow this issue down.

To determine if this is an issue with Azure, try copying the solution manually to the machine and running the test. If it builds/runs fine, then the issue with your Azure pipeline. Take a closer look at your Azure configuration to see what it is missing/different than when you manually copy/pasted the solution (perhaps something is being ignored when it is required).

If it does not work, then Azure is not the culprit. To narrow it down even further, try and fresh Ranorex solution with a very basic recording and see if it runs on the remote machine. If it does run, then we know the issue is isolated to the one solution. If it does not run, the issue is caused by something with the machine.

Hopefully following these recommendations will help narrow it down and guide you on what to look at next. It may be worthwhile to contact support after you narrow it down if you are still experiencing issues as this issue appears to be unique to your environment or solution.

Filipe Mendes
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jul 16, 2019 3:24 pm

Re: Ranorex.Core.Constants.CodeGenVersion not working

Post by Filipe Mendes » Tue Sep 03, 2019 8:55 pm

Thank you for your responses.
I finally get the chance to work on this issue and resolve it.
The issue was not with Azure but actually with the target machine.
I just reinstalled again the Ranorex version 9.1.0 on the target and it seems to work fine now.

Regards,

Filipe