ranorex execution performance

Ask general questions here.
sivakumaran
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Dec 18, 2015 8:07 am

ranorex execution performance

Post by sivakumaran » Wed Feb 15, 2017 8:39 am

dear ranorex community,

The ranorex execution is relatively higher than manual test time
Is there techniques to optimize the ranorex execution time
1.is there possibility to reduce time taken to recognize a UI object?
2.are there timeouts that can be changed to improve performance?
3.is data coming from ranorex simple table vs external data source(eg. excel) makes a difference in performance?
4. for e.g. there is a validation test step that takes 3 secs as shown below. I have 6 validation steps, so 18secs went in that. can you comment is there something wrong with below validation.
15:40:40 Info Validation

Error Description at IP Info Column
Validating AttributeEqual (AccessibleDescription=$EmptyIPErrorDesc) on item 'Network_View.Devices.IPInfo1'.
15:40:43 Success Validation

Attribute 'AccessibleDescription' of element for item 'Onesyscon_modulesRepository.Network_View.Devices.IPInfo1' does match the specified value.
please provide some suggestions how to go about it.

thanks,
Siva

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 7470
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: ranorex execution performance

Post by odklizec » Wed Feb 15, 2017 8:59 am

Hi,

Typically, slow test execution/element recognition speed is caused by not optimized or too general xpaths with a lot of relative elements (?, *, //,...). Unfortunately, it's hard (impossible) to tell what's wrong in your case without examining your AUT or at least Ranorex snapshot (not screenshot) of the problematic elements and xpath of slow-to-find elements. Additionally, if you are running your tests on VM, this could affect the test speed as well. So please upload the AUT snapshot and example of slow to find xpath(s).
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

krstcs
Posts: 2683
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 4:14 pm
Location: Austin, Texas, USA

Re: ranorex execution performance

Post by krstcs » Wed Feb 15, 2017 3:00 pm

Also, in addition to what Pavel said, you need to understand that the primary goal of automation is not speed, it is consistency. You will generally get speed as a bi-product, but it isn't the actual goal. You automate so a human doesn't have to do it.
Shortcuts usually aren't...

sivakumaran
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Dec 18, 2015 8:07 am

Re: ranorex execution performance

Post by sivakumaran » Thu Feb 16, 2017 8:47 am

Dear all,
Thanks for your answers

Expressions like ? and
Empty fields like \\
Gets added automatically when a control is tracked via Ranorex spy

When I look into the Ranorex spy
Checkboxes with any
Is shown

I read from
Ranorex has 3 different methods/algorithms it uses to generate the XPath. The reason your path looks like it does is because of the method you are using ("StepCostReduce"). You can change the XPath generation mode by going to: Global Settings -> Advanced Tab. There you will find, next to the bottom, "RanoreXPath generation mode". You can choose "Simple" (path will contain EVERY element), "Reduce" (what I use, path will contain most elements as long as they are meaningful), and "StepCostReduce" (the default, path will ONLY contain the most meaningful elements). See this page for more specific info.


I am attaching the Ranorex report (zipped) for problematic RxPaths

thanks,
Siva
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Vega
Posts: 222
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2023 7:50 pm

Re: ranorex execution performance

Post by Vega » Mon Feb 20, 2017 9:47 pm

Looking at your log it looks like you have a permissions mis-match which could cause items to take longer to recognize:

"This control (from process '(Unknown)') seems to be a Windows Forms control, but was not recognized as such, possibly due to a security limitation. UI element identification capabilities for this control may be limited.
If this control is a WinForms control, please make sure that the automating process has the rights to access the automated application. Otherwise, please ignore this limitation.
The following website provides more information on this technology limitation:
http://www.ranorex.com/support/user-gui ... html#c3250
(This message is only shown once per report.) "

The above message appears in your log under the "Manual Change of IP Address" test case. Have you tried running your executable test / Ranorex Studio with administrative rights?

If you are purely interested in speed, please look into the below (Turbo Mode):

http://www.ranorex.com/support/user-gui ... tions.html