Ranorex feedback window does not update when running tests

Bug reports.
colutti
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2012 2:42 pm

Ranorex feedback window does not update when running tests

Post by colutti » Thu Feb 07, 2013 2:09 pm

Scenario:

Microsoft TFS
Microsoft Test Manager with Lab Management executing testings on virtual machines
Ranorex
Windows 2008 R2

When I run tests using Microsft Test Management on 2 virtual machines the tests run fine, but the Ranorex feedback window only updates when running the first test. All other tests do not update the window. It is hard to explain, but you can see what I mean by looking at the screenshot.
Attachments
Untitled.png
Untitled.png (149.98 KiB) Viewed 1113 times

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Ranorex feedback window does not update when running tests

Post by Support Team » Fri Feb 08, 2013 4:47 pm

Hello,

Could you please give us more information about this issue? I'm not sure what should be updated in your screenshot.
Thank you!

Regards,
Bernhard
.
Image

colutti
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2012 2:42 pm

Re: Ranorex feedback window does not update when running tests

Post by colutti » Fri Feb 08, 2013 5:07 pm

The window "Ranorex test run". See where I wrote in my screenshot "It does dot update".
It was supposed to tell what step it is performing, gauges and so on.

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Ranorex feedback window does not update when running tests

Post by Support Team » Mon Feb 11, 2013 6:31 pm

Hello,

I would need more information because we want to analyze the issue in more detail.
Which version of Ranorex are you using?
Is the behavior the same if you run the test on your local machine?
Are you using the TestReport in your tests?
Thank you!

Regards,
Bernhard
.
Image

colutti
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2012 2:42 pm

Re: Ranorex feedback window does not update when running tests

Post by colutti » Wed Feb 13, 2013 2:57 pm

Support Team wrote:Hello,

I would need more information because we want to analyze the issue in more detail.
Which version of Ranorex are you using?
Is the behavior the same if you run the test on your local machine?
Are you using the TestReport in your tests?
Thank you!

Regards,
Bernhard
I am using the last version.
This behavior only occurs when running in this scenario. It does not occur when i run the tests locally on my machine.
I am not using TestReport

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Ranorex feedback window does not update when running tests

Post by Support Team » Fri Feb 15, 2013 10:34 am

Hi,
colutti wrote:This behavior only occurs when running in this scenario. It does not occur when i run the tests locally on my machine.
Does this happen only on this specific Virtual Machine? We also use SCVMM for our internal test machines and we've never faced such an issue. Instead of connecting via SCVMM did you try to use RDP or VNC for example?

Regards,
Peter
Ranorex Team
.
Image

colutti
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2012 2:42 pm

Re: Ranorex feedback window does not update when running tests

Post by colutti » Fri Feb 15, 2013 12:32 pm

Does this happen only on this specific Virtual Machine? We also use SCVMM for our internal test machines and we've never faced such an issue. Instead of connecting via SCVMM did you try to use RDP or VNC for example?

Regards,
Peter
Ranorex Team
That happens on 2 virtual machines, both used to test the same application as you can see in my screenshot.
No, I have not tried to connect via RDP or VNC but i will give it a try. Have you tried to connect via SCVMM also to see if that happens to you?
The important thing here is that those tests are fired by Test Manager. I dont fire the tests myself directly. If you guys want I can provide a RDP connection to the SCVMM host and fire the tests so you can see for your own eyes.

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Ranorex feedback window does not update when running tests

Post by Support Team » Tue Feb 19, 2013 1:45 pm

colutti wrote:Have you tried to connect via SCVMM also to see if that happens to you?
Yes we tried this too. We use the Lab-Management Tool to connect to the machines, which connects using the RDP and also the SCVMM built-in viewer and we've never seen such a problem.
colutti wrote: I dont fire the tests myself directly
We also use Ranorex in combination with MTM to fire our internal test.
colutti wrote:If you guys want I can provide a RDP connection to the SCVMM host and fire the tests so you can see for your own eyes.
This would be great. Therefore please contact [email protected] .

Regards,
Peter
Ranorex Team
.
Image

colutti
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2012 2:42 pm

Re: Ranorex feedback window does not update when running tests

Post by colutti » Tue Feb 19, 2013 2:25 pm

I have sent you guys an e-mail do schedule the RDP connection.

colutti
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2012 2:42 pm

Re: Ranorex feedback window does not update when running tests

Post by colutti » Thu Feb 21, 2013 10:24 pm

I have tested it connecting via RDP and Microsoft Environment Viewer and it has the same issue.

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Ranorex feedback window does not update when running tests

Post by Support Team » Fri Feb 22, 2013 10:18 am

colutti wrote:I have sent you guys an e-mail do schedule the RDP connection.
Did you also try VNC or a similar viewer?

Regards,
Peter
Ranorex Team
.
Image

nmathew
Certified Professional
Certified Professional
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2014 6:40 pm
Contact:

Re: Ranorex feedback window does not update when running tests

Post by nmathew » Thu Nov 06, 2014 6:47 pm

Any updates on this issue?

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Ranorex feedback window does not update when running tests

Post by Support Team » Fri Nov 07, 2014 2:25 pm

Hello nmathew,

Unfortunately, we couldn't reproduce the issue.

Please explain your issue in more detail.
  • • What exactly happens on your side?
    • Do you get any error messages?
    • Which version of Ranorex do you use?
    • Etc.
Thanks,
Robert
.
Image

nmathew
Certified Professional
Certified Professional
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2014 6:40 pm
Contact:

Re: Ranorex feedback window does not update when running tests

Post by nmathew » Wed Dec 17, 2014 6:48 pm

Seems like I missed the replied post
Ranorex version 5.1.3

So here is what’s happening

I have configured my test to run via Build deploy and test workflow from Visual studio which is nothing but Ranorex tests wrapped in coded UI and run tests along with the build and deployment using visual studio Test agent.

1. After deployment, Visual studio test agent start execution of the coded ui tests which executes the Ranorex tests
2. Test runs – ( for eg: if I’m executing two MTM test cases 1. Launching the application and 2. Login to the application )
MTM test case starts with launching the application which is mapped to Ranorex test case – Ranorex feed back window appears and displays the test case name and step – After successful completion of the 1st test case, Test agent reports back to MTM
3. Test agent now start executing the second MTM test case that is login to the application which is mapped to the Ranorex login to the application test case – The Ranorex feed back window now failed to update the second test case information(Test case name and displaying the steps). It still displays the first Ranorex test case name which is launching the application.


I didn’t get any error message. It is just that Ranorex feed back window is not updating for every test case execution and stuck with the first test case name for the whole run time.

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Ranorex feedback window does not update when running tests

Post by Support Team » Thu Dec 18, 2014 11:11 am

Hello nmethew,

Thank you for you answer.

First of all, please update to our latest version, currently Ranorex 5.2.1. If the issue then still persists, please contact [email protected]

Thanks,
Robert
.
Image