Ranorex getting response times

Best practices, code snippets for common functionality, examples, and guidelines.
mw-tw
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2017 11:29 am

Ranorex getting response times

Post by mw-tw » Tue Jan 03, 2017 11:31 am

Hi,

i like the Ranorex tool and already tried the free version.


Is there any chance to get the response times of a use case or a special part of a use case?

For example:

I created a "login" use case and want to know if the use case is working and as an additional info, i want to know how long this took.

asdf
Posts: 174
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2016 3:16 pm

Re: Ranorex getting response times

Post by asdf » Wed Jan 04, 2017 3:04 pm

Hi Mw-Tw,

The execution times can be found on the right side of the report.
2017-01-04 14_58_35-SampleSolution - Ranorex Studio.png
2017-01-04 14_58_35-SampleSolution - Ranorex Studio.png (4.48 KiB) Viewed 779 times
Furthermore, Ranorex isn't designed for performance testing and therefore there is no feature for exact time measuring. However, you can use the Stopwatch class under the namespace System.Diagnostics in order to achieve your intention.

Hope this helps.

Best regards,
asdf

mw-tw
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2017 11:29 am

Re: Ranorex getting response times

Post by mw-tw » Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:44 am

thanks,

yes i know that Ranorex is mainly for function-tests.

But i want to execute different use-cases in a rich-client application and want to know the execution times.

I think that the measurements of Ranorex is exact enough....


Or do you know another tool, that can be used to get the client-side times of different use-cases?

asdf
Posts: 174
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2016 3:16 pm

Re: Ranorex getting response times

Post by asdf » Thu Jan 05, 2017 1:37 pm

Unfortunately, I'm not familiar with performance testing. However, I have heard that Ranorex has a new integration in a performance testing tool called "NeoLoad".
You can find the integration itself here.

Hope this helps.

Best regards,
asdf

Speedboat
Certified Professional
Certified Professional
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2015 4:44 pm
Location: Switzerland

Re: Ranorex getting response times

Post by Speedboat » Tue Jan 10, 2017 3:36 pm

Hi mw-tw

You could use 2 code modules

1 - read 'Environment.TickCount' and store the value in a static variables

2 - read 'Environment.TickCount again, subtract the value of the static variables,
Write this timediff (msec) to the Report

Now place module 1 before your other modules and module 2 after the last module for the use case.

Or did I get something wrong?

mw-tw
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2017 11:29 am

Re: Ranorex getting response times

Post by mw-tw » Wed Jan 11, 2017 8:52 am

thanks :D