Ranorex identifies elements, but won't click on them.

Ask general questions here.
johnsmith
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2012 2:13 am

Ranorex identifies elements, but won't click on them.

Post by johnsmith » Tue Mar 20, 2012 8:48 pm

Hello, I'm having this strange issue:

1. I have an icon in the task bar. I need to click on it with my right button and than I need to click an item from the popping up menu. Ranorex automizes clicking on the taskbar icon, but it won't click on the item from popping up menu. The mouse even won't move. If I press highlight in repository, it highlights the menu correctly.

2. I have a VPN client application. Clicking on the icon in the task bar works correctly. But once I want to automize a click on a button within the application, it won't work. Same thing - the item is highlighted correctly, but cursor won't move.

I tried to do it both ways - with normal automation and with image-based automation. Still getting the same result.

It's pretty strange, but in both cases the clicks get reported as "successful".

I'm on Windows 7.

How can I make the clicks work? Thanks.

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Ranorex identifies elements, but won't click on them.

Post by Support Team » Thu Mar 22, 2012 2:31 pm

Hi,

It seems that Ranorex looses the focus of the specific container, do you have tried to set the "Use Ensure Visible" property of the repository element to true, or to call the focus method of that specific element?
yourRepo.yourRepoElement.Self.Focus();
Does Ranorex make the click before the pop up appears?
Can you send us a Ranorex Snapshot file of the pop up window and the VPN client application?
Following link will show you how to generate a snapshot file.
Can you also send us some more information about your test environment, are you working on a VM, which Ranorex version are you using, ...?

Regards,
Markus
Ranorex Support Team
.
Image

johnsmith
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2012 2:13 am

Re: Ranorex identifies elements, but won't click on them.

Post by johnsmith » Sun Mar 25, 2012 1:06 am

Hello, have you received my snapshots? Any feedback so far?

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Ranorex identifies elements, but won't click on them.

Post by Support Team » Mon Mar 26, 2012 11:05 am

Hi,

thanks, we have received your snapshot files.
Can you please provide us any further information Markus has asked you for?
We've just tried to automate this VPN application and did not have any issues with doing so.

Regards,
Tobias
Ranorex Team
.
Image

johnsmith
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2012 2:13 am

Re: Ranorex identifies elements, but won't click on them.

Post by johnsmith » Mon Mar 26, 2012 6:16 pm

I tried to do what Markus suggested, without any success.
Setting UseEnsureVisible to 'true' or calling .Focus() on my buttons has no effect at all.

What do you mean by "Does Ranorex make the click before the pop up appears?" It successfully clicks on the taskbar icon, but it won't click on the popup menu.

Why is it saying in the report that the test has been successful, when it wasn't?

I hope to have this issue solved as soon as possible!

johnsmith
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2012 2:13 am

Re: Ranorex identifies elements, but won't click on them.

Post by johnsmith » Mon Mar 26, 2012 6:41 pm

Ok, I was able to solve the issue - I simply had to give Ranorex admin rights! :)

I think you should add this suggestion to always give Ranorex admin rights to your user guide - this way others will be able to save lots of time.