Ranorex information dialog blocks the element that it needs to click

Ask general questions here.
evwens
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue May 21, 2019 1:44 pm

Ranorex information dialog blocks the element that it needs to click

Post by evwens » Tue May 21, 2019 1:53 pm

Hi all,
That little information dialog (usually shown in the bottom right corner of your screen) that shows the current step during a test run, blocks clicking on a button that is right under it.
Is there any good workaround?

Thanks in advance!

McTurtle
Posts: 297
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2017 10:37 am
Location: Benedikt, Slovenia

Re: Ranorex information dialog blocks the element that it needs to click

Post by McTurtle » Wed May 22, 2019 1:49 pm

Hi evwens,

This should normally not happen.
However, if it does, then right-click on the test suite, choose "Properties", go to the "General" tab and disable the "Show progress dialog" checkbox. Now the progress dialog will not be shown at all.

Regards,
McTurtle

SiobhanMcGrath
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2018 10:50 am

Re: Ranorex information dialog blocks the element that it needs to click

Post by SiobhanMcGrath » Tue Jun 11, 2019 10:17 am

Hi

This is also happening to me. When I disable the dialog box my test passes.

Is there a workaround that doesn't involve disabling the dialog box?

I have tried having an EnsureVisible() action and a Mouse, Move action but nothing seems to be working.

Many Thanks
Siobhan

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 7470
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Ranorex information dialog blocks the element that it needs to click

Post by odklizec » Tue Jun 11, 2019 10:29 am

Hi,

What Ranorex version do you use? Normally, the dialog is automatically moved away from the area of expected mouse click. So please, make sure you are using most recent Ranorex version. If the problem still happens with actual Ranorex 9.1.0, please answer these questions:
- windows version?
- display resolution?
- are you using multiple displays?
- have you tried to reproduce the problem on another computer?
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

SiobhanMcGrath
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2018 10:50 am

Re: Ranorex information dialog blocks the element that it needs to click

Post by SiobhanMcGrath » Tue Jun 11, 2019 11:05 am

We are using 9.0.1. So is this the issue?

Would you be able to tell me if there is a way to take the Application under test to the front and the dialog box to the back of the screen?

Thanks for all your help.

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 7470
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Ranorex information dialog blocks the element that it needs to click

Post by odklizec » Tue Jun 11, 2019 12:14 pm

Hi,

9.0.1 should not be an issue, but I would still suggest to try 9.1.

As far as I know, there is no way to tell the progress dialog to go to background. But as mentioned, you can disable/enable the progress and you can do it also from code...
Ranorex.Controls.ProgressForm.Hide();
Ranorex.Controls.ProgressForm.Show();
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration