Ranorex is not recognizing Flash application

Ask general questions here.
anildani
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Apr 20, 2013 12:25 pm

Ranorex is not recognizing Flash application

Post by anildani » Sat Apr 20, 2013 12:35 pm

Hi,

I have a website which launches flash activities/application. I am not able to record the flash application. I got a popup "Ranorex Technology Limitation". I have click on "Run Wizard" then "Ranorex Instrumentation Wizard" Open. I have installed many times but still it is not recognizing flash application and every time "Ranorex Technology Limitation" popup appear.

I am using

O.S.: Win XP
Firefox: 18.0
Ranorex: 4.0
Flash Player: 11.7

Please provide solution ASAP.

Regards
Anil Dani
Attachments
Ranorex_Limitation.JPG
Ranorex_Limitation.JPG (162.88 KiB) Viewed 1314 times

SirTomster
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Apr 22, 2013 5:52 pm

Re: Ranorex is not recognizing Flash application

Post by SirTomster » Mon Apr 22, 2013 5:56 pm

I also am having this issue. I just started to evaluate the system and I keep getting the Ranorex Technology Limitation popup when I mouse over my Flash website.

I am using Win8
I have tested this in Chrome, IE10, & Firefox with the same issue.

I have rebooted my system. I have re installed Flash.

I am not sure what else to try.

Tom

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Ranorex is not recognizing Flash application

Post by Support Team » Tue Apr 23, 2013 5:39 pm

Hi Tom and Anil,

Just some initial questions:
Which file was used in order to install Ranorex, the setup.exe, the Ranorex_X.exe or the *.msi one?
Is the corresponding Flash Debug Player also installed on your machines?
May it be possible to upload or send ([email protected]) us a Ranorex snapshot file of your flash application and the flash log file?
This would help us to analyze the issue in detail!

Thanks,
Markus
.
Image

anildani
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Apr 20, 2013 12:25 pm

Re: Ranorex is not recognizing Flash application

Post by anildani » Tue Apr 30, 2013 1:42 pm

Hi Marcus,

Thanks for your reply.

We have installed Ranorex using "Setup.exe" file.

Additionally, as requested, we are providing you log file and snapshot.

Please review and advise.

Regards
Anil
Attachments
flashlog.txt
Log File
(10.41 KiB) Downloaded 170 times
snapshot1.rxsnp
Snapshot file
(317.86 KiB) Downloaded 171 times

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Ranorex is not recognizing Flash application

Post by Support Team » Thu May 02, 2013 1:13 pm

Hello Tom,

Thank you for your files.

Which version of ActionScript do you use?
Please note that we don’t support ActionScript 2.

Is it possible to get access to your application?
This would help us in order to analyze your issue in detail.

Regards,
Markus (T)
.
Image

anildani
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Apr 20, 2013 12:25 pm

Re: Ranorex is not recognizing Flash application

Post by anildani » Thu May 02, 2013 1:36 pm

Hi Marcus,

Thank you for your reply.

Our application is using ActionScript 2. I believe, This is the reason why ranorex is not capturing FLASH element of our application.

Thanks for your help.

Regards
Anil

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Ranorex is not recognizing Flash application

Post by Support Team » Fri May 03, 2013 3:20 pm

Hello,

You are welcome :-)

Regards,
Markus (T)
.
Image

SirTomster
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Apr 22, 2013 5:52 pm

Re: Ranorex is not recognizing Flash application

Post by SirTomster » Thu May 16, 2013 6:25 pm

Support Team wrote:Hi Tom and Anil,

Just some initial questions:
Which file was used in order to install Ranorex, the setup.exe, the Ranorex_X.exe or the *.msi one?
Is the corresponding Flash Debug Player also installed on your machines?
May it be possible to upload or send ([email protected]) us a Ranorex snapshot file of your flash application and the flash log file?
This would help us to analyze the issue in detail!

Thanks,
Markus

For me.

I installed it from the Ranorex-4.0.3.exe file.

Also, I have found that this seems isolated to Win8. I have some Win7 systems here that work fine. But not our Win8 systems.

Also an update, We can go to this site: http://www.ranorex.com/web-testing-exam ... ample.html and it works fine. So appears to be something in our code I expect.

I will also work on getting the snapshot and the log file.

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Ranorex is not recognizing Flash application

Post by Support Team » Fri May 17, 2013 2:01 pm

Hello,

I assume that you are using the PreLoader to instrument Flash/Flex in your application.
Unfortunately, the PreLoader for Flash/Flex is not working on Windows 8 with IE10.
We are currently working on a fix for it.

It should be possible to instrument it by adding the Ranorex Lib into your Flash/Flex application as described in our User Guide.

Regards,
Markus (T)
.
Image

SirTomster
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Apr 22, 2013 5:52 pm

Re: Ranorex is not recognizing Flash application

Post by SirTomster » Fri May 17, 2013 3:50 pm

Support Team wrote:Hello,

I assume that you are using the PreLoader to instrument Flash/Flex in your application.
Unfortunately, the PreLoader for Flash/Flex is not working on Windows 8 with IE10.
We are currently working on a fix for it.

It should be possible to instrument it by adding the Ranorex Lib into your Flash/Flex application as described in our User Guide.

Regards,
Markus (T)

We have tried it both ways. I have a build with the Ranorex Lib and it responds the same as with the PreLoader. Again only with Windows 8 and not Windows 7.

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Ranorex is not recognizing Flash application

Post by Support Team » Tue May 21, 2013 4:11 pm

Hello,

Have you tried to refresh your webpage with F5 after loading it?
Could you please send us your Flash log file in order to analyze your issue?
Please take a look at our User Guide for information about how to enable logging for Flash/Flex.

Thank you in advance.

Regards,
Markus (T)
.
Image

Flash05
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2014 8:27 am

Re: Ranorex is not recognizing Flash application

Post by Flash05 » Tue Jan 28, 2014 11:08 am

Hello,

I am also using windows 8 and internet explorer 11. Did you fix the problem with the instrumentation wizard already?

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Ranorex is not recognizing Flash application

Post by Support Team » Thu Feb 13, 2014 4:06 pm

Hi,

Could you please be more specific? We have currently no known issues concerning the instrumentation wizard using:
  • Ranorex 4.1.5
    IE 11
    Windows 8
Regards,
Robert
.
Image