Ranorex is not recognizing the XPath of dynamicaly rendered

Ask general questions here.
iam7

Ranorex is not recognizing the XPath of dynamicaly rendered

Post by iam7 » Thu Oct 30, 2014 11:03 pm

Ranorex is not recognizing the XPath of dynamicaly rendered buttons inside the File Ribbon Group.
Ranorex seem to calculate the coordinates from another (wrong) object to the button which is clicked.
So when the recording is made -the test runs sucessfully, however the screen-prints point to the wrong object.
The problem I have is -if the resolution is changed all the tests are going to fail.

I am sure this is a common problem and it was addressed earlier. I am new to Ranorex.
Perhaps I can utilize some of the image recognision capabilities.

Sincerely,

Ivan Melnikov

CookieMonster
Certified Professional
Certified Professional

Re: Ranorex is not recognizing the XPath of dynamicaly rendered

Post by CookieMonster » Fri Oct 31, 2014 9:38 am

Hi Ivan,

May your problem is the XPath itself. I also struggling sometimes with XPath problems in our java application. Because our developers change a container or remove it, where the object to automate is displayed and even if they have removed the container the object is still visible, then you have fix your XPath or create an XPath, which does ignore such changes.
Due to the fact, that you are working dynamically objects and with repository which was created during recording, may it make sense first to have a look on the XPath itself.

May it makes sense, if you post a Spy snapshot of the working automation and a snapshot which is not working.

Cheers
Dan

iam7

Post by iam7 » Fri Oct 31, 2014 3:23 pm

Ranorex is not recognizing the object correctly ScreenPrint1.jpg
Ranorex is not recognizing the object correctly ScreenPrint1.jpg (169.24 KiB) Viewed 976 times
Dan,