Ranorex license.

Ranorex Spy, Recorder, and Studio.
maychu123
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2014 4:57 am

Ranorex license.

Post by maychu123 » Mon May 05, 2014 4:57 am

Hi bro !!!
I want to ask about detail license.
- Standalone Test Execution : it can be used to run in many machines ???
- What are differences between Node-Locked and Floating ???
- If i want to coding Ranorex, i must buy Node-Locked or Floating ???

Thank you !!!

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3930
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Ranorex license.

Post by odklizec » Mon May 05, 2014 6:11 am

Hi,
maychu123 wrote: - Standalone Test Execution : it can be used to run in many machines ???
Only in case of floating license. But if you want to run the test on multiple computers at the same time, you would require an equivalent number of licenses. The only other way is to wait for end of execution of previous test and then start new one. See for example this post how to make your tests to wait for available license:
http://www.ranorex.com/forum/playback-a ... tml#p20824
maychu123 wrote: - What are differences between Node-Locked and Floating ???
Node locked license is locked to a particular computer. Floating can be used on as many computers as you want but the same license can be used on one computer at the same time. Let's say you have one floating license, then you can run the test only on one computer and only after this test finishes, you can run it on another computer (with the same license).
maychu123 wrote: - If i want to coding Ranorex, i must buy Node-Locked or Floating ???
It's completely up to you. If you plan to develop your tests just on one computer, node locked license is what you need. If you plan to develop on multiple computers (one at a time), floating license is better choice.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

maychu123
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2014 4:57 am

Re: Ranorex license.

Post by maychu123 » Mon May 05, 2014 11:19 pm

Thank you very much.
If i buy Standalone Test Execution , after that i copy this license to another machines. Does it work ????

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3930
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Ranorex license.

Post by odklizec » Tue May 06, 2014 8:32 am

You mean you want to buy just one node locked runtime license and then you want to use that license on multiple computers (to save money)? This will, of course, not work.

The purpose of the node locked license is to be used on a particular computer. The license is locked to that computer. If you want to use that license on another computer, you can do this only by unloading the license form the first computer and installing it on another computer. But then it will stop working on the first computer.

If you want to run your tests on multiple computers, you either need to buy one standalone per computer or better, to buy a floating license.

If you don't need to run the tests on all computers at the same time, one floating license should be just enough for you. With the help of "WaitForValidLicense" method, you can make your tests to wait for available license. If you still need to run your scripts on multiple computers at the same time, you would need buy multiple node locked/floating licenses. There is no other way.

BTW, the Studio license (used for development) can too be used for running your tests (like the runtime license). But of course, once the Studio license is used for running your tests, you will not be able to develop tests at the same time (and vice versa).
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

maychu123
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2014 4:57 am

Re: Ranorex license.

Post by maychu123 » Wed May 07, 2014 4:45 am

1.Floating can be used on as many computers as you want but the same license can be used on one computer at the same time
It means i can deploy on as many computers but i can only run on a computer at the same time ???
If i disconnect internet ??? How can ranorex check run-time ????

2.Installing license without Internet Connection: i have read :
http://www.ranorex.com/support/user-gui ... nsing.html
The web site address used to authenticate the license key is part of the licensing email delivered after purchasing licenses. Simply open a browser and navigate to the authentication page. Fill in your license key and the machine's host name

[Censored by Ranorex]

3. Every time a Ranorex test, a Ranorex tool, or Ranorex Studio is started the client sends a license request to the server. If the type of the required license is available, it will be assigned to the requesting client. By closing Ranorex Studio or finishing a test run the license will be automatically released and can then be used by other clients.
It means floating license must be used on many computers within a network.
[Censored by Ranorex]
Within a network, at a time, i can only use a computer. If i want to use on another computer, i must close tool on computer using Ranorex ???

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3930
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Ranorex license.

Post by odklizec » Wed May 07, 2014 8:25 am

In case of node locked license, the license is activated over the internet. Once activated, you can disconnect the computer out of the internet. Eventually, you can use a computer with Internet access to authenticate the license for another computer (without internet connection). Then install the authentication file to the computer with node locked license.

[Censored by Ranorex]

In case of Floating license (installed on a server), all computers accessing the floating license must be connected to the same network (to be able to lease that floating license). They don't have to be connected to the Internet. But of course, your purchased floating license must be installed and activated on the Ranorex license server! The server does not have to be connected to Internet, but license must be activated before first use.

Once again, there is (usually) no need to run tests on multiple machines at the same time. So I would suggest you to buy a minimum required number of licenses and use the WaitForValidLicense code I mentioned before to make sure your tests will wait for next available license.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

krstcs
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 2683
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 4:14 pm
Location: Austin, Texas, USA

Re: Ranorex license.

Post by krstcs » Wed May 07, 2014 2:22 pm

First, it is not legal to have the same node-locked license installed on more than one computer at a time due to copyright laws in most countries that Ranorex is sold in.

Second, I believe that the license is tied to some other background information as well as the machine name.

Finally, (again, from my understanding) when you activate a node-locked license, the machine MUST be connected to the internet and it will need to be able to connect to Ranorex's license servers. These servers will not allow the license to be activated on a second machine until/unless that license has been de-activated on the first system.


Please, do not attempt to circumvent these licensing methods. The Ranorex team works very hard to make a quality product and deserve to be paid appropriately for the work they do. Their product is very in-expensive compared to similar products.
Shortcuts usually aren't...

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Ranorex license.

Post by Support Team » Thu May 08, 2014 9:39 am

Hello all,

First of all thank you odklizec and krstcs for your answers, we really appreciate that.
I think it is time to post an official statement from Ranorex.

In general if you buy ONE Node-Locked license with the maximum authentication number set to "1" it is only allowed to install and use this license on ONE machine.
If you want to use Ranorex on a second machine at the same time you have to buy a second Node-Locked license.

A Floating license can also be used only on one machine at the same time, but the license will be released from this machine when you close Ranorex and if no test is running. If the floating license was released you can use the license on another machine. If you want to use Ranorex on two machines at the same time you need two license keys.

If your test environment has no access to the internet you can authenticate the license using our online "Ranorex License Authentication Service". You will get a valid license file which can be installed within the test environment.

Unfortunately I had to modify some posts of your posts because we don't want to have a discussion on our website about how to break our licensing mechanism.
Please note, when you break our licensing mechanism you will break the license agreement too which is culpable.

Thank you for your understanding.

Regards,
Bernhard
Ranorex Support Team
.
Image

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3930
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Ranorex license.

Post by odklizec » Thu May 08, 2014 1:59 pm

Hi Bernhard,

Thanks for the clarification of licensing. Just one more thing about one of the censored comments ;) It has pointed to a post made by one of your colleagues. This post made me think it's officially supported by Ranorex? If it's not, then it would be good to modify/delete that post because it can still be found by the search tool. Thanks!
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Ranorex license.

Post by Support Team » Fri May 09, 2014 12:24 pm

Hi odklizec,

I understand that. Unfortunately it was a mistake from our side. I have already removed the whole thread.
Thank you for your help.

Regards,
Bernhard
.
Image

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3930
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Ranorex license.

Post by odklizec » Fri May 09, 2014 12:28 pm

Hi Bernhard,

Thanks for the explanation! I thought it's weird suggestion, especially if coming from Ranorex team ;)
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

BabyRoot
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Oct 30, 2015 10:19 am

Re: Ranorex license.

Post by BabyRoot » Fri Oct 30, 2015 10:38 am

Hello.
I'd like to clarify.
If i have Premium Node-Locked lic. I built test project:
2015-10-30 12-36-13 Скриншот экрана.png
test-project
2015-10-30 12-36-13 Скриншот экрана.png (81.6 KiB) Viewed 2007 times
And copy this compiled project on another working computer, and run it - i need have license on this computer too?

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Ranorex license.

Post by Support Team » Tue Nov 03, 2015 11:16 am

Hello BabyRoot,

In order to execute a Ranorex test at least a Ranorex Runtime License has to be installed on the machine.
If you want to use other tools like Ranorex Studio or Ranorex Spy you need a Ranorex Premium license.
A lot more information about the Ranorex licensing can be found in the user guide on our website.
If you have additional questions regarding the Ranorex Licnese mechanism please send an email to [email protected].

Regards,
Bernhard
.
Image