Ranorex locates forms differently for .NET 2/4.

Bug reports.
davladus
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Oct 01, 2010 12:13 pm

Ranorex locates forms differently for .NET 2/4.

Post by davladus » Fri Oct 01, 2010 12:48 pm

Sorry, I have not found anything like that at the forum.

After re targeting our WinForms application from .NET 2 to 4 all our ranorex tests have failed.
The reason is : rx pathes to locate our forms like

Code: Select all

/form[@title='MyTitle'] 
became invalid. Instead RanorexSpy locates my form with rxpath like

Code: Select all

/controlnet11[@processname='MyProcName']
.

Steps to reproduce:
1. Create new WindowsForms application using VisualStudio 2010 wizzard.
2. Target it to .NET 2.0 (remove Linq usings in generated code) compile and run
3. RxSpy locates form as /form[@title='Form1']
4. Close form. Re target it to .NET 4.0. Compile and run.
5. RxSpy locates forms as

Code: Select all

/controlnet11[@processname='WindowsFormsApplication1']
. RxPath

Code: Select all

 /form[@title='Form1']
is invalid for that form.

Expected behavior: rxpath

Code: Select all

/form[@title='Form1']
works for .NET 4.0

Environment:
Win XP
Ranorex evaluation version: 2.3.4

Regards,
Vladimir.

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Ranorex locates forms differently for .NET 2/4.

Post by Support Team » Mon Oct 04, 2010 9:47 am

Hi,

Thank you for posting this bug. We are currently searching for a solution to overcome this problem. The issue will be fixed in one of the next Ranorex releases. We will inform you if we have an earlier solution. Maybe there is just something to configure in the app.config file.

Regards,
Peter
Ranorex Team
.
Image

kris123pra
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2010 8:13 am
Location: India

Re: Ranorex locates forms differently for .NET 2/4.

Post by kris123pra » Tue Jan 04, 2011 3:30 pm

Hi Peter,
The issue will be fixed in one of the next Ranorex releases. We will inform you if we have an earlier solution.
Is there any release for supporting .Net 4? Currently we are facing the same issue as Vladimir.

Thanks and regards
Kris

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Ranorex locates forms differently for .NET 2/4.

Post by Support Team » Wed Jan 05, 2011 9:17 pm

The first release, which will support .NET 4.0 Windows Forms in the same way .NET 2.0 controls are supported now, is going to be Ranorex 3.0. There are currently no plans to change the recognition of .NET 4.0 Windows Forms controls for Ranorex 2.X due to backwards compatibility.

Ranorex 3.0 is shortly entering Beta phase and the Beta does already support .NET 4.0 Windows Forms controls. So we have a solution, it just takes some time still till the code makes it through the development cycle and into the final release :)

Regards,
Alex
Ranorex Team
.
Image

christof
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Feb 18, 2010 10:58 am

Re: Ranorex locates forms differently for .NET 2/4.

Post by christof » Fri Feb 04, 2011 3:30 pm

Alex, do you have any idea of an approximate date for the release of 3.0? Alternatively a minor release with the .NET 2/4 issue resolved?

It's just that I currently have the same problem as the previous posters. It's causing a bit of a headache here.

Cheers.

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Ranorex locates forms differently for .NET 2/4.

Post by Support Team » Fri Feb 04, 2011 9:31 pm

Hello Christof,

Ranorex 3.0 will be released within the next few week. No exact date has been fixated yet.

Regards,
Roland
Ranorex Support Team
.
Image