Ranorex no longer able to build

Ask general questions here.
c676228
Posts: 176
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2015 5:40 am

Ranorex no longer able to build

Post by c676228 » Tue Apr 14, 2015 11:24 pm

Hi,

My web automation test with Ranorex doesn't give me a good experience.
First of all I experienced either Ranorex or my Web application not responding or quite slow during the recording (when no Ranorex is involved. I don't have any problems.).

So I tried to install remote server manager for window 8 in order to disable Internet Explorer Security Configuration as per Ranorex web site suggested. However after the server manager is installed(together with a window update). The recorded test case cannot be built and it is not able to run at all.

The two errors are:
1) The "EntityDeploy" task has been declared or used incorrectly, or failed during construction.
Check the spelling of the task name and the assembly name. (MSB4060)
2) The "EntityDeploy" task could not be instantiated from the assembly
"C:\Windows\Microsoft.NET\Framework\v3.5\Microsoft.Data.Entity.Build.Tasks.dll".
Please verify the task assembly has been built using the same version of the Microsoft.Build.Framework assembly
as the one installed on your computer and that your host application is not missing a binding redirect for Microsoft.Build.Framework.
Unable to cast object of type 'Microsoft.Data.Entity.Build.Tasks.EntityDeploy' to type 'Microsoft.Build.Framework.ITask'. (MSB4127)


It seems that .net framework 3.5 is messed up. Can someone help, please?

Betty

c676228
Posts: 176
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2015 5:40 am

Re: Ranorex no longer able to build

Post by c676228 » Tue Apr 14, 2015 11:36 pm

Actually no projects can be built including my previous windows automation projects. So aweful.

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3930
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Ranorex no longer able to build

Post by odklizec » Wed Apr 15, 2015 7:24 am

Hi,

It looks as if the remote server manager installation messed something up? Have you tried to uninstall and reinstall Ranorex? If reinstalling Ranorex does not help, try to uninstall the remote server manager and eventually, check if there is a restore point you can return to (remote server manager installation related restore point). Another thing you might try is .NET Framework Repair Tool.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

c676228
Posts: 176
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2015 5:40 am

Re: Ranorex no longer able to build

Post by c676228 » Wed Apr 15, 2015 8:56 pm

Hi Pavel,

Yesterday I uninstalled remote server manager and the windows update right after the issue occurred.
After that the issue seems not gone until I restarted the computer a couple of times.

So I don't know the exact issue. Now it is ok.

Thanks,
Betty