Ranorex not able to identify list elements under Canvas

Experiences, small talk, and other automation gossip.
aaggarwal
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Oct 14, 2015 1:26 pm

Ranorex not able to identify list elements under Canvas

Post by aaggarwal » Thu Oct 15, 2015 7:46 am

Hi All,

I have been working on evaluating automation tools for our application which is Oracle Forms.

Here, with Ranorex i am able to identify most of the object in Oracle Forms application, but i am facing issue with Canvas as follows:

- Ranorex Spy is not able to identify list options under Canvas, which we have to select [one or multiple options] to perform next action.
- We have different options under that list box and we have to select one or multiple options , but Ranorex is not able to identify those options, whereas with UFT & TestComplete we are able to do that.
- If there is a solution for this issue, then i think ranorex will be the good tool for our Oracle Forms application automation.

Please look into above issue and provide the solution. This will be really helpful for me to finalize the automation with Ranorex.
Thanks,
Ajay Aggarwal
+91-8284070354

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3930
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Ranorex not able to identify list elements under Canvas

Post by odklizec » Thu Oct 15, 2015 8:27 am

Hi Ajay and welcome here,

Unfortunately, there is too little information in your post for providing reasonable help. Could you please answer the following questions?
Ranorex version?
OS version?
Please post a Ranorex snapshot of the problematic element. If you cannot post the snapshot publicly, send it to [email protected] (along with problem description). Ranorex support guys should contact you within 24 hours.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

aaggarwal
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Oct 14, 2015 1:26 pm

Re: Ranorex not able to identify list elements under Canvas

Post by aaggarwal » Thu Oct 15, 2015 9:14 am

Hi Team,

Thanks for the quick response.

Further, please find below the details:

Ranorex Version: 5.4.1.25490
OS: Win 7[64 Bit]
Java JDK: 1.6.7

We have a listbox which Ranorex spy is detecting as a Canvas, and under that we have to select the options, which we are not able to identify using Ranorex.


Thanks,
Ajay

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3930
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Ranorex not able to identify list elements under Canvas

Post by odklizec » Thu Oct 15, 2015 9:43 am

Hi,

Unfortunately, there is no snapshot included in either of your posts, so I can only assume that the "Canvas" you are talking about is something Java based?

I'm afraid, Ranorex currently does not recognize elements from Java canvas. You can try to update Ranorex to the latest 5.4.2 and JDK to something newer (I believe Java 6 is pretty old and no longer supported/recommended to use?). However, I don't think either step will help with your problem. You mentioned other automation tools recognize the elements on Java canvas, so it's probably something Ranorex devs. should investigate. I would suggest to send a feature request (along with attached snapshot) to [email protected].
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

krstcs
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 2683
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 4:14 pm
Location: Austin, Texas, USA

Re: Ranorex not able to identify list elements under Canvas

Post by krstcs » Thu Oct 15, 2015 2:32 pm

As Pavel said, a Canvas element is only a picture. It does not actually contain a list, only a picture of a list, so Ranorex cannot identify anything but the Canvas itself.
Shortcuts usually aren't...

aaggarwal
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Oct 14, 2015 1:26 pm

Re: Ranorex not able to identify list elements under Canvas

Post by aaggarwal » Thu Oct 15, 2015 2:40 pm

Hi Team,

We have updated the Ranorex version, but facing same issue.

Our application is running only with Java 1.6.7 and please find the attached screenshot for reference.

Thanks,
Ajay
Attachments
Screenshot_Oracle_Form_Canvas_Issue.jpg
Canvas issue screenshot
Screenshot_Oracle_Form_Canvas_Issue.jpg (255.14 KiB) Viewed 1193 times

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3930
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Ranorex not able to identify list elements under Canvas

Post by odklizec » Thu Oct 15, 2015 3:44 pm

Hi,

It does not appear to be "Canvas" problem but rather a ListView problem? Could you please post a Ranorex snapshot instead of screenshot? You can learn how to create one here:
http://www.ranorex.com/support/user-gui ... files.html
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

aaggarwal
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Oct 14, 2015 1:26 pm

Re: Ranorex not able to identify list elements under Canvas

Post by aaggarwal » Fri Oct 16, 2015 1:41 pm

Hi Team,

Thanks for the updates.

If it seems to be ListView issue can you provide us the solution to handle this using Ranorex.

I cannot provide the screenshot other than the one i have already attached.

Please provide the solution to handle the listview as we are able to do that using UFT and TestComplete tool.

I have to finalize the tool if Ranorex support the elements selection under listview.

Thanks,
Ajay

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3930
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Ranorex not able to identify list elements under Canvas

Post by odklizec » Fri Oct 16, 2015 2:10 pm

Hi,

I'm sorry, but I can't help you more. I would suggest to ask Ranorex support for help (at [email protected]). But even they will need Ranorex snapshot, access to your app or at least remote session with you.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

aaggarwal
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Oct 14, 2015 1:26 pm

Re: Ranorex not able to identify list elements under Canvas

Post by aaggarwal » Fri Oct 16, 2015 2:16 pm

Hi Team,

Can you provide me the solution on how to hadle listview issue in Ranorex. Sample Code will be helpful.

Thanks,
Ajay

aaggarwal
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Oct 14, 2015 1:26 pm

Re: Ranorex not able to identify list elements under Canvas

Post by aaggarwal » Mon Oct 19, 2015 6:52 am

Hi Team,

Please find the attached Ranorex snapshot as per the steps mentioned on the link and help to resolve this issue.

Your help on this will be highly appreciated.

Thanks,
Ajay
Attachments
test.zip
(3.12 MiB) Downloaded 70 times

aaggarwal
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Oct 14, 2015 1:26 pm

Re: Ranorex not able to identify list elements under Canvas

Post by aaggarwal » Mon Oct 19, 2015 8:03 am

Hi Team,

Please provide the solution and let me know in case any other information is required from my end.

Thanks
Ajay

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3930
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Ranorex not able to identify list elements under Canvas

Post by odklizec » Mon Oct 19, 2015 8:17 am

Hi Ajay,

I'm afraid, I don't have a solution for your problem. Looking at the snapshot, the List in question appears to be an AWT element. Java AWT is supported by Ranorex since Ranorex 3.x or so and from my previous experience with automating AWT-based app, Ranorex works quite well with AWT elements? So it's either a bug in Ranorex or your List element is a non-standard AWT element? I would suggest you to contact Ranorex support to discuss it further. I believe they will request a remote session to perform some more tests.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

aaggarwal
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Oct 14, 2015 1:26 pm

Re: Ranorex not able to identify list elements under Canvas

Post by aaggarwal » Mon Oct 19, 2015 8:37 am

Hi Team,

Thanks for the update on the issue.

I have already sent an email to support team and let see whether they will be able to resolve this issue or not.

Thanks,
Ajay

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Ranorex not able to identify list elements under Canvas

Post by Support Team » Mon Oct 19, 2015 1:59 pm

Hello Ajay,

I'm afraid that we didn't receive your email.

May I ask to send the email again to [email protected]?

Thank you in advance.

Regards,
Johannes
.
Image