Ranorex not generating files cs.Ranorex.exe, cs.Ranorex.exe.config

Ask general questions here.
krishnamurthy
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2015 7:30 am

Ranorex not generating files cs.Ranorex.exe, cs.Ranorex.exe.config

Post by krishnamurthy » Tue Feb 11, 2020 7:53 am

Hi,
While executing the run modules, I am getting the error message saying "A required privilege is not held by the client". So I verified the debug folder and found the Ranorex is not generating these two files.

filename*.cs.Runner.exe
filename*.cs.Runner.exe.config

I executed the same tests in different system and found the ranorex is generating below files. Please find the attached screen shot for more information.


Best regards,
Krishna
Attachments
Ranorex_Run_files.jpg
Ranorex_Run_files.jpg (332.98 KiB) Viewed 223 times

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 6360
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Ranorex not generating files cs.Ranorex.exe, cs.Ranorex.exe.config

Post by odklizec » Tue Feb 11, 2020 8:45 am

Hi,

This is definitely a permission issue on your system. Could you please check, if you have writing rights for given folder? Also, what you can try is to Run Ranorex Studio as Administrator and try to run your test again.

A couple of other steps you can try can be found here:
https://troubleshooter.xyz/wiki/fix-a-r ... ent-error/
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

krishnamurthy
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2015 7:30 am

Re: Ranorex not generating files cs.Ranorex.exe, cs.Ranorex.exe.config

Post by krishnamurthy » Tue Feb 11, 2020 10:29 am

Thanks for the reply, I tried most of the things in the given post. But nothing is working. Even I restored my windows system to yesterdays restore point.
still I am facing the issue
Please find the attached screen shot.

best regards,
Krishna
Attachments
Ranorex_Run_files_1.jpg
Ranorex_Run_files_1.jpg (184.7 KiB) Viewed 211 times

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 6360
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Ranorex not generating files cs.Ranorex.exe, cs.Ranorex.exe.config

Post by odklizec » Tue Feb 11, 2020 10:37 am

Hi,

Well, it's definitely a permission issue at OS level, which means it's nothing Ranorex can do about it. And you also mentioned in your initial post that it works on other systems? So it's definitely something in your system.

At first, restart your PC and try to uninstall Ranorex and even manually delete entire "bin" folder. Then install Ranorex back and try it again.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

krishnamurthy
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2015 7:30 am

Re: Ranorex not generating files cs.Ranorex.exe, cs.Ranorex.exe.config

Post by krishnamurthy » Tue Feb 11, 2020 1:52 pm

Thank you,
I tried everything before positing in the forum. Actually I tried all possible options like install and reinstalling the Ranorex, deleting folder, and took the solution from TFS instead of local one.

As you said, might be the system level permission issue.
Ranoare version: 9.1.1

Best regards,
Krishna

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 6360
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Ranorex not generating files cs.Ranorex.exe, cs.Ranorex.exe.config

Post by odklizec » Tue Feb 11, 2020 2:07 pm

Hi,

Although I don't think this will fix your problem, you should definitely try the most recent 9.2.1! Debugging any kind of issue with an old/obsolete version is just a waste of time and energy ;) But as mentioned, this will most probably not fix your issue.

I would suggest to check the user permissions for given folder, your account permissions and eventually consult the issue with your IT admins. As it works on other systems, there is most probably something messed up with your PC.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration