Ranorex not running on Windows XP

Ask general questions here.
ericp
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2017 9:48 am

Ranorex not running on Windows XP

Post by ericp » Tue Dec 05, 2017 10:12 am

We are needing to run automated tests (unfortunately) on Windows XP PC's.
I've installed Ranorex version 7.2.0 on a Windows XP PC. This PC is running Windows XP Professional, Version 2002, Service Pack3. Also installed is Microsoft .net 4 Client profile, and .net 4 extended

When I try launch Ranorex studio, I see the process starting up in Task Manager, but it disappears after a split second, and does not launch.
The Windows Event Viewer shows nothing at all - i.e. no errors/warnings or anything that might indicate why the process is killed/terminated.

If I try run 'Ranorex Spy', I get an error popup, showing : "Ranorex.Spy.exe has encountered a problem and needs to close. We are sorry for the inconvenience."

Additional details :
Error signature :
AppName: ranorex.spy.exe AppVer: 7.2.0.0 ModName: kernel32.dll
ModVer: 5.1.2600.5512 Offset: 00012aeb

Same problem when trying to run Ranorex recorder......

Anyone know what the problem is (or might be), or what version of Ranorex we can use that will on a Windows XP Service Pack 3 system ?

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3921
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Ranorex not running on Windows XP

Post by odklizec » Wed Dec 06, 2017 12:42 pm

Hi,

As far as I know, there was not issued an official statement about dropping Windows XP support (yet). But starting from Ranorex 7.0, there should be displayed a warning message like this (in case you start Ranorex on WinXP):
Running Studio or tests on Windows XP will show a technology limitation warning that Windows XP support will be dropped in a future Ranorex version .
So maybe they already dropped the WinXP support? I would suggest to try Ranorex 7.0. This version (and maybe some other versions) should still work with WinXP.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

krstcs
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 2683
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 4:14 pm
Location: Austin, Texas, USA

Re: Ranorex not running on Windows XP

Post by krstcs » Wed Dec 06, 2017 3:34 pm

The use and support of Windows XP should be discontinued as soon as possible as it is no longer supported by Microsoft and therefore cannot be supported by any other vendor. If your company is still using it then they are putting themselves and their customers at risk by continuing to use a system which will no longer receive any security updates.
Shortcuts usually aren't...

ericp
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2017 9:48 am

Re: Ranorex not running on Windows XP

Post by ericp » Mon Dec 11, 2017 12:44 pm

Thanks for the feedback. Unfortunately version 7.0.1 does the same.
We are not using XP, but many of our customers still are - hence we unfortunately need to test on XP....

ahoisl
Certified Professional
Certified Professional
Posts: 125
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2007 8:16 am

Re: Ranorex not running on Windows XP

Post by ahoisl » Mon Dec 11, 2017 10:19 pm

Unlike Microsoft, Ranorex has not dropped Windows XP support, yet. All versions up to Ranorex 7.2 also support Windows XP (and we also do test on Windows XP ourselves using Ranorex :-) ).

However, Windows XP support will be dropped with the upcoming Ranorex 8.0 major release, which will have .NET 4.5.2 as a prerequisite, which is not available on Windows XP. If you have to test Windows XP, please stay with Ranorex 7.2. We finally decided to do this step - more than 3 years later than Microsoft dropped Windows XP - since most of our internal infrastructure components (like TFS) do not run on Windows XP any more.
ericp wrote:If I try run 'Ranorex Spy', I get an error popup, showing : "Ranorex.Spy.exe has encountered a problem and needs to close. We are sorry for the inconvenience."
To your actual problem: Please make sure that you installed all Ranorex prerequisites, in particular all C++ Runtime packages. The easiest way to do this is running the Ranorex-X.Y.Z.exe installer package which will check for the necessary packages (in contrast to running the *.msi installer directly).

Best Regards,
Alex
Ranorex Team