Ranorex Project Hudson integration

Ask general questions here.
ran
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2012 3:21 pm

Ranorex Project Hudson integration

Post by ran » Thu Oct 11, 2012 9:14 pm

Hello,

I want to integrate the my project with hudson.Could some one please guide me on this???

How to start on this???

I found the below link but did'nt helped me much on hudson

http://www.feedreader.com/feed/Ranorex_News/104207860

Thanks for the help

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Ranorex Project Hudson integration

Post by Support Team » Fri Oct 12, 2012 10:29 am

Hello,

The blog post describes how to use Jenkins as CI tool, but using Hudson instead should not make much difference, so did you really read the blog carefully?
Please also take a look at the following forum post.

Regards,
Markus
Ranorex Support Team
.
Image

ran
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2012 3:21 pm

Re: Ranorex Project Hudson integration

Post by ran » Fri Oct 12, 2012 2:42 pm

I was hoping that there might be some tutorial with integration of hudson and ranorex...

Regarding the other blog..I don't think so it is useful to me at present as it does'nt have the basic steps.... may be later on :)

So could you provide me some basic steps how to start???

Thanks a lot in advance

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Ranorex Project Hudson integration

Post by Support Team » Mon Oct 15, 2012 9:45 am

Hi,

There will be a blog where it will be explained in general how you can integrate Ranorex in CI tools, this blog should be released very soon and should explain the basic steps.

Regards,
Markus
Ranorex Support Team
.
Image

ran
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2012 3:21 pm

Re: Ranorex Project Hudson integration

Post by ran » Mon Oct 15, 2012 5:44 pm

I followed the blog

One step I am not able to understand

Source Code Management

Is there a requirement to have the recorded steps for running the exe

Why exactly we need that step?

Also Is it necessary to have to solution??

Thanks for the help

ran
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2012 3:21 pm

Re: Ranorex Project Hudson integration

Post by ran » Mon Oct 15, 2012 5:54 pm

First of all Hudson is running on linux

Also I tried the steps and I am getting below errors

Path To MSBuild.exe: msbuild.exe
Executing command: [email protected]
[workspace] $ msbuild.exe "C:\Users\skala\Documents\Ranorex\RanorexStudio Projects\Ranorex_Hudson_POC\Ranorex_Hudson_POC.sln"
FATAL: command execution failed
java.io.IOException: Cannot run program "msbuild.exe" (in directory "/usr/java/hudson/jobs/Ranorex_i18n_prototype/workspace"): java.io.IOException: error=2, No such file or directory
at java.lang.ProcessBuilder.start(ProcessBuilder.java:459)
at hudson.Proc$LocalProc.<init>(Proc.java:192)
at hudson.Proc$LocalProc.<init>(Proc.java:164)
at hudson.Launcher$LocalLauncher.launch(Launcher.java:638)
at hudson.Launcher.launch(Launcher.java:446)
at hudson.Launcher.launch(Launcher.java:378)
at hudson.Launcher.launch(Launcher.java:312)
at hudson.plugins.msbuild.MsBuildBuilder.perform(MsBuildBuilder.java:132)
at hudson.tasks.BuildStepCompatibilityLayer.perform(BuildStepCompatibilityLayer.java:61)
at hudson.tasks.BuildStepMonitor$1.perform(BuildStepMonitor.java:19)
at hudson.model.AbstractBuild$AbstractRunner.perform(AbstractBuild.java:601)
at hudson.model.Build$RunnerImpl.build(Build.java:174)
at hudson.model.Build$RunnerImpl.doRun(Build.java:138)
at hudson.model.AbstractBuild$AbstractRunner.run(AbstractBuild.java:416)
at hudson.model.Run.run(Run.java:1257)
at hudson.model.FreeStyleBuild.run(FreeStyleBuild.java:46)
at hudson.model.ResourceController.execute(ResourceController.java:88)
at hudson.model.Executor.run(Executor.java:127)
Caused by: java.io.IOException: java.io.IOException: error=2, No such file or directory
at java.lang.UNIXProcess.<init>(UNIXProcess.java:148)
at java.lang.ProcessImpl.start(ProcessImpl.java:65)
at java.lang.ProcessBuilder.start(ProcessBuilder.java:452)
... 17 more
Finished: FAILURE

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Ranorex Project Hudson integration

Post by Support Team » Tue Oct 16, 2012 3:40 pm

Hi,

It seems that you forgot to set the path to the msbuild.exe as described in the blog: Configure Plugins.

Regards,
Markus
Ranorex Support Team
.
Image

ran
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2012 3:21 pm

Re: Ranorex Project Hudson integration

Post by ran » Wed Oct 17, 2012 3:21 pm

I set the msbuild.exe file.

one thing is my hudson is running on linux and msbuild.exe is in the local path windows.

Is there any other way to run this?

or what are the other settings that I should do to run ranorex jobs in hudson which in turn running in Linux

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Ranorex Project Hudson integration

Post by Support Team » Wed Oct 17, 2012 3:39 pm

Hi,

can you please provide us some more information about the infrastructure you are working on?
As you can see from our System Requirements Ranorex Automation can only be build and executed on the listed operating systems.

Regards,
Tobias
Ranorex Team
.
Image