Ranorex queries

Ask general questions here.
Santhosh
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2018 5:51 am

Ranorex queries

Post by Santhosh » Mon Feb 04, 2019 6:53 am

Hi Team,

Can anyone help me with below doubts:

1. How to provide the relative paths of executable files in “Run Application” command. Passing dynamic paths in launching some application ? [Hardcoded paths will not run on all environments ]
2. We have WPF based simulators in our automation environment. One simulator control are recognize using “WPFOnly” Setting where as another simulator get recognize using “UiaOnly” option, But my testcase uses both the simulators. How can we change the Setting of recording from WPFOnly to UiaOnly at the run time ?
3. How to access the common recording module across projects ? recording module create a copy of recording if we access in another project and changes done at one place will not reflect in other projects? How to handle the case, if I want to share “Login to Application” recording module common.
4. How to handle IF-ELSE conditions in testcase steps ? if I have scenarios to perform one steps and based on its outcome do step2 or step 3, how that decision making can be automate in Ranorex. ?

Thanks in advanced.

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 5887
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Ranorex queries

Post by odklizec » Mon Feb 04, 2019 8:45 am

Hi,

1) You will have to either pass the correct path via command line (via test suite global parameters), or simply obtain and fill the path to variable in runtime, via user code and then simply use that variable in Run command (or elsewhere required).

2) You may find useful this post...
viewtopic.php?f=16&t=10871&p=43882#p43882

3) This should help...
https://www.ranorex.com/blog/organizing ... est-suite/

4) Test Suite/Case conditions are very well described here:
https://www.ranorex.com/help/latest/ran ... ons-rules/
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

gvijay11
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Apr 11, 2019 4:26 pm

Re: Ranorex queries

Post by gvijay11 » Thu Feb 06, 2020 3:02 pm

Hi Team,

I am using Ranorex v9.01.
I am able to see the Reports are stored under \bin\debug\reports folder whenever i run a testsuite within a local computer. But, if i run the same test suite on the remote machine using Remote, in which the report will be stored. I can see report history in Ranorex Studio but not under the Reports Tab in Project view. Please clarify.

We need to run a same test case to many remote machines from Ranorex Studio Remote Pad and to store the report files in a common location.

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 5887
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Ranorex queries

Post by odklizec » Thu Feb 06, 2020 3:16 pm

Hi,

At first, Ranorex 9.0.1 is a dead horse and you should definitely update it with 9.2.1 ;)

At next, you can get the actual working directory using this command:

Code: Select all

string actualWorkDir = TestSuite.WorkingDirectory;
This will return something like this:

Code: Select all

C:\Users\UserName\AppData\Local\Temp\Ranorex\fb8e00cc2cd5cb018183c8708888f07c
Eventually, this code should return directly report dir:

Code: Select all

using Ranorex.Core.Reporting;
string reportDir = TestReport.ReportEnvironment.ReportFileDirectory;
Hope this helps?
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration