Ranorex recognized table-object as a text-object - It's wrong! How can I change it?

Technology specific object identification, supported applications, web technologies, and 3rd party controls.
User avatar
Sven
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jan 11, 2021 1:41 pm

Ranorex recognized table-object as a text-object - It's wrong! How can I change it?

Post by Sven » Fri Mar 19, 2021 12:44 pm

I have a table in my GUI, that I have to check with Ranorex:
2021-03-21_table-object.png
Ranorex Spy of Ranorex Studio 9.4.0 regognized the table object as a text object.
2021-03-21_ranorex-spy.png
At the moment I am working with screenshots because Ranorex doesn't allow to work with the cells. But this is a problem, because I should compare some values with another objects like list items (that Ranorex regognizes correct).

What can I do that Ranorex regognizes my table object as a table object and not as a text object?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 6556
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 8:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Ranorex recognized table-object as a text-object - It's wrong! How can I change it?

Post by odklizec » Wed Apr 07, 2021 8:29 am

Hi,

Unfortunately, it's impossible to tell what's wrong without seeing the app under test, a small sample app, featuring the table in question or, at very least, a Ranorex snapshot (NOT screenshot) of the table in question (ideally, entire main dialog containing the table).

My best guess is, that the AUT is something ancient and not properly supported by Ranorex or with poorly/not implemented accessibility? So could you please provide the AUT, small sample app (ask developers) or Ranorex snapshot? Thanks.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

User avatar
Sven
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jan 11, 2021 1:41 pm

Re: Ranorex recognized table-object as a text-object - It's wrong! How can I change it?

Post by Sven » Mon Apr 26, 2021 7:09 pm

Hi Pavel,

here is a snapshot of the screenshots of my first message.
exampleTableField.rxsnp
Unfortunately I cannot make a small sample app so I hope that the snapshot helps.

Regards,
Sven
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 6556
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 8:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Ranorex recognized table-object as a text-object - It's wrong! How can I change it?

Post by odklizec » Tue Apr 27, 2021 1:45 pm

Hi,

Thanks for the snapshot. It helped me to understand your GUI, but I'm afraid, I don't have any helpful answer. The element you are talking about is not actually table, but some kind of Property List? I guess it's a 3rd party GUI component, with no or improperly implemented accessibility and this is why Ranorex is not able to see "inside".
PropertyList.png
Unfortunately, the only thing, which may eventually help with extracting "some" data from this property list, is to enable GDI capture functionality, as described here:
https://www.ranorex.com/help/latest/ran ... e-feature/
Another thing you might try, is to examine this property list with MS Inspect (obsolete) or Accessibility Insights tool...
https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/window ... ct-objects
If either of these tools is able to read data from the Property List in your app, it's definitely something Ranorex folks should check. But I guess both tools will fail to read data from your app as well? Simply, the Property List is most probably not properly written.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

User avatar
Sven
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jan 11, 2021 1:41 pm

Re: Ranorex recognized table-object as a text-object - It's wrong! How can I change it?

Post by Sven » Thu Apr 29, 2021 3:54 pm

Hi Pavel,

thanks a lot for your help! :)
With enabled GDI capture Ranorex Spy find the missing elements as RawText-objects:
2021-04-29 ranorexSpyGDI.png
Here the snapshot:
propListGDI.rxsnp
But what's next? Do you have a tip how I can report this to Ranorex support? I thought they are reading here, too. :D
Unfortunately I am a tester only and not a programmer of this software that I have to test. Another company is programming this software and a am testing it.

Regards,
Sven
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 6556
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 8:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Ranorex recognized table-object as a text-object - It's wrong! How can I change it?

Post by odklizec » Fri Apr 30, 2021 5:27 am

HI Sven,

Well, I'm afraid, that "what next" is completely up to you? :) RawTexts are hard to work with, because they are not table elements. All they contain is text of individual "cells" and Row/Column index. So it's up to you what do you want to do with them. Unfortunately, there is no general approach or sample code, how to work with GDICapture output.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

User avatar
Stub
Posts: 443
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2016 12:35 pm

Re: Ranorex recognized table-object as a text-object - It's wrong! How can I change it?

Post by Stub » Fri Apr 30, 2021 7:09 am

Oh, GDI Capture and 'tables', what joy. In our app we had a table that I 'read' via GDI Capture and built up my own internal structure that represented it. But because GDI Capture can only capture what gets drawn, my code has to scroll the view across the entire width of the table so it can 'read' everything. Once read, I can interrogate the data that I've built up. That was a fun exercise! You'll need to do that in code if you were to do something similar.

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 6556
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 8:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Ranorex recognized table-object as a text-object - It's wrong! How can I change it?

Post by odklizec » Fri Apr 30, 2021 7:14 am

Yeah, I would rather bite my legs off than to work with GDI capture output :D I did it in the past, but luckily, only with few isolated elements, not entire list or table. That's whole different level of hell :D
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

User avatar
Stub
Posts: 443
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2016 12:35 pm

Re: Ranorex recognized table-object as a text-object - It's wrong! How can I change it?

Post by Stub » Fri Apr 30, 2021 7:37 am

Excellent. Between us, Pavel, we've probably put the fear into Sven here! :D :D :D In our case it was a major component that gets used a lot, so it was worth the time investment. We rely heavily upon GDI Capture and RawText elements in our tests at various points, but yes, I too try and avoid them if at all possible because they are remarkably sensitive.