Ranorex Report does not get Opened

Ask general questions here.
annavamsi
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2016 10:55 pm

Ranorex Report does not get Opened

Post by annavamsi » Fri Jun 30, 2017 10:35 am

Hi,

We are using Ranorex Version 6.2.1, Win 10 OS and our application is on c# technology,

We are running our tests through jenkins with the following command
<TestSuiteName>.exe /zr /zrf:"<JenkinsWorkspaceName>\Reports\Report-Build.rxzlog" and at the end of the run we are archiving the report in Jenkins.

When opening the rxzlog we are getting the following error(Refer the attached Screenshot), Note that the test run has been completed.

When trying to extract the contents we are getting another error.

Could you let us know how to solve this issue.

Regards,
Vamsi
Attachments
ReportError.jpg
Report Snapshot
ReportError.jpg (137.16 KiB) Viewed 530 times

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3945
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Ranorex Report does not get Opened

Post by odklizec » Fri Jun 30, 2017 11:33 am

Hi,

From the error you are getting during the extraction, it seems that the zip installed in your system is not able to extract the required report files. Do you have winzip or 7zip installed in your system? You see, "rxzlog" file is nothing else than just plain "zip" file renamed to rxzlog ;)
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

annavamsi
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2016 10:55 pm

Re: Ranorex Report does not get Opened

Post by annavamsi » Tue Jul 04, 2017 6:33 am

We have 7zip installed on our system, my guess is the issue is not with the zip files as what i see is that when i run the command mentioned in the post the report copied in jenkins workspace is not properly zipped, but the same report in other test suites which we have are working fine.

the size of the zipped report is 53MB

It works fine if the size is around 10MB

Could you help in solving this issue


regards,
Vamsi

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3945
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Ranorex Report does not get Opened

Post by odklizec » Tue Jul 04, 2017 8:30 am

Hm, it sounds like a corrupted zip? Have you tried to rename the generated rxzlog to zip and extract its content with 7zip? 53MB zipped report is quite huge, but there should not be any file size limit? Honestly, you should definitely consider splitting your test job into multiple smaller chunks.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

annavamsi
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2016 10:55 pm

Re: Ranorex Report does not get Opened

Post by annavamsi » Wed Jul 05, 2017 4:39 am

I tried renaming to zip and extract I am facing the same issue. We don't want to separate into chunks.

As said it works fine if the size is 10MB but not for 53MB.

Vamsi

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3945
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Ranorex Report does not get Opened

Post by odklizec » Thu Jul 06, 2017 7:30 am

Hi,

So it appears that the report file is corrupted? Unfortunately, I have no experience with such large report files. In a theory, the size of report should not be a problem, except it may take some time to open it. But it should definitely not get corrupted. Have you tried to run your test (and generate report) on another computer? Also, I would suggest to try it with latest Ranorex 7.1.

If neither of the above suggestion helps, then I think you will have to discuss the problem directly with Ranorex folks. It may be either a bug or a Ranorex report size limitation? Or there is something on your computer that prevents building large reports?
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration