Ranorex Report From Visual Studio 2008

Ask general questions here.
alexcruzvb
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2011 5:31 pm

Ranorex Report From Visual Studio 2008

Post by alexcruzvb » Thu Apr 21, 2011 8:46 pm

Hi,
I don't know if this is a bug or I'm missing something. I created a test suite in ranorex 3.0.1 and it works perfectly. I can open the project in Visual Studio by clicking on the Visual Studio solotion file. When I process it, it runs as espected with the exception that there is no report file ".rxlog" created. Am I missing something?
Regards,
Alex

SeanP
Posts: 60
Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2010 11:48 pm
Location: Irvine California

Re: Ranorex Report From Visual Studio 2008

Post by SeanP » Fri Apr 22, 2011 1:05 am

alexcruzvb wrote:Hi,
I don't know if this is a bug or I'm missing something. I created a test suite in ranorex 3.0.1 and it works perfectly. I can open the project in Visual Studio by clicking on the Visual Studio solotion file. When I process it, it runs as espected with the exception that there is no report file ".rxlog" created. Am I missing something?
Regards,
Alex

Do you have a :

Code: Select all

  Report.Setup(ReportLevel.Info, logFileName, true);

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11710
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Ranorex Report From Visual Studio 2008

Post by Support Team » Fri Apr 22, 2011 8:18 am

Hi,

You don't need to setup the report. This should be handled by the Test Suite. Have your tried to start your executable from the output folder, which is generated if you compile your solution with Visual Studio?
I tried this too and the Report is generated as expected.

Regards,
Peter
Ranorex Team
.
Image

alexcruzvb
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2011 5:31 pm

Re: Ranorex Report From Visual Studio 2008

Post by alexcruzvb » Fri Apr 22, 2011 3:18 pm

Hi,
Ok it does create the report. I was expecting to see it in the solution's "Report" folder where it is created when processed from ranorex. However when processed from visual studio, it creates the report in the bin/debug folder.
Regards,
Alex

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11710
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Ranorex Report From Visual Studio 2008

Post by Support Team » Fri Apr 22, 2011 4:25 pm

alexcruzvb wrote:However when processed from visual studio, it creates the report in the bin/debug folder.
Right. Actually, the report is always created in the output folder (e.g. bin/debug), but Ranorex Studio moves the output to the "Reports" folder after the test has finished (unless you turn that option of in the Ranorex Studio settings).

Regards,
Alex
Ranorex Team
.
Image