Ranorex report with Test case name

Ask general questions here.
kaancha
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 4:12 pm

Ranorex report with Test case name

Post by kaancha » Fri Apr 03, 2015 7:08 pm

Is it possible to generate Ranorex report with the 'Test case' name in it ?
For example:

TestSuiteName_DateTime_TestCaseName.rxlog


Thanks.

krstcs
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 2683
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 4:14 pm
Location: Austin, Texas, USA

Re: Ranorex report with Test case name

Post by krstcs » Mon Apr 06, 2015 2:54 pm

Since a test suite can have multiple test cases in it, how would Ranorex know which one to use in the file name?

Please give more information about the scenario and exactly what you want to accomplish.
Shortcuts usually aren't...

kaancha
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 4:12 pm

Re: Ranorex report with Test case name

Post by kaancha » Wed Apr 08, 2015 8:42 pm

If I choose to run only ONE test case at a time, Is it possible to display that name on the .rxlog file?

For example:
Current displayed format is something like this:
TestSuiteName_20150403_211142.rxlog

Is it possible to replace it with something like this ?

TestSuiteName_20150403_TestCaseName.rxlog

Thanks.

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Ranorex report with Test case name

Post by Support Team » Thu Apr 09, 2015 3:36 pm

Hi kaancha,

Do you execute the single test case from command line or from Ranorex Studio?

Why do you just execute one single test case at a time? Do you know that you can also use Run Configurations where you can also select just specific test cases to run?

Regards,
Markus
.
Image

kaancha
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 4:12 pm

Re: Ranorex report with Test case name

Post by kaancha » Fri Apr 10, 2015 1:17 pm

Hi Markus,
Does it matter how I run my test ?
My question was, is there a way to display the 'Test case name' in my test report.
It seems like Ranorex does not have that option built-in.

Here are all the options available:
(for example: %S_%Y%M%D_%T_%L_%R_%H_%X.rxlog).

I understand that it does not make sense to break down the report by test case name if you run a test suite with multiple test cases. My question was: If I run ONE test case at a time, is it possible to show the 'Test Case name' in report file?

Thanks.

krstcs
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 2683
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 4:14 pm
Location: Austin, Texas, USA

Re: Ranorex report with Test case name

Post by krstcs » Fri Apr 10, 2015 1:24 pm

It does matter how you run the test, that is why he asked.

If you run from the command line you can set many of the options more easily, such as specific test cases to run. You can also set the report file name. This could be used to set the file name and test case dynamically through a batch file or continuous integration solution like Jenkins.

Running from Ranorex Studio will hide or generalize some of these settings.
Shortcuts usually aren't...