Ranorex Reports stopped displaying test steps

Bug reports.
grogerson
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2015 8:26 pm
Location: Canada

Ranorex Reports stopped displaying test steps

Post by grogerson » Wed Oct 21, 2015 9:12 pm

Ranorex Reports stopped displaying steps.

Unless I accidently hit some wierd key combination,
nothing had been changed from getting good reports
to broken reports.

Ranorex version: 5.4.3
OS: Windows 7 Pro SP1


A test is run using right click > Run Selected Test Case

It runs fine, succeeding or failing per circumstances.

At the end of the run a report is displayed, which can be
expanded to show the test steps, errors, etc.

PROBLEM: The reports come up, but no longer show the steps.

Image


I looked in the files ... hmmm, html. And found
instructions to rename them. So copy to another
folder with other files needed and renamed them
like IMS2_20151021_123916.rxlog.html.

Image


On browsing them I see all the steps are present, so
conclusion: something to do with the Ranorex viewer.

Image


I tried the following:

Search everywhere for some setting that could plausibly
fix this. Nothing.
Includes looking at the Test Suite properties

Image


Report level is at info, so should get everything (log files are
in attached zip)

Search the net. Nothing close.


Uninstall Ranorex
Re-install Ranorex 5.4.3
No difference.


Uninstall Ranorex
Reboot computer.
Re-install Ranorex 5.4.3
No difference.

Other than this, Ranorex runs as it should.
Attachments
reportfiles.zip
(170.21 KiB) Downloaded 48 times

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Ranorex Reports stopped displaying test steps

Post by Support Team » Fri Oct 23, 2015 8:17 am

Hi Grogerson,

Unfortunately, I have never seen that issue before, but it seems that there is something broken with the ReportViewer since the Report itself contains all information. I’d really like to analyze this problem during a short remote session.
Therefore, please contact us by email ([email protected]) to discuss the details personally.
Thank you.

Regards,
Markus (S)
.
Image

grogerson
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2015 8:26 pm
Location: Canada

Re: Ranorex Reports stopped displaying test steps

Post by grogerson » Thu Dec 24, 2015 9:13 pm

Just a note to thank the Ranorex support team, and Bassem in particular, for helping us get past this. :D

Turns out that Ranorex uses Internet Explorer as the log renderer internally. Somehow IEs permissions had been turned down from permissive to paranoid. When permissions were restored, logs rendered correctly. An in-house update to IEs settings, not a Ranorex bug, was the cause.