Ranorex Runtime and Citrix

Ask general questions here.
adrianot
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri May 14, 2010 4:12 pm

Ranorex Runtime and Citrix

Post by adrianot » Fri May 14, 2010 4:22 pm

Hello we need to automate some customer apps from a primary application in a Citrix environment/session.

We are investigating a possible use of Ranorex like this:
1) One license to record/create the automation logic
2) A runtime license for the customer (node-locked?).

There are a couple of questions we would like to ask:
- Feasibilty: Are there any issues to run this on a Citrix environment?
- Runtime License: Being a Citrix server, there are multiple sessions. How does the license work? Node locked serializes the requests, -or- having, say, 100 concurrent sessions executing the automated script is fully supported?

THANKS!
Cheers

User avatar
Ciege
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 1335
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2008 6:46 pm
Location: Arizona, USA

Re: Ranorex Runtime and Citrix

Post by Ciege » Fri May 14, 2010 5:15 pm

Keep in mind that when using Citrix (or any RDP application) you are just getting a screenshot of what is going on. So Ranorex or any automation application will not see objects just a big picture.
For automation to work correctly in a Citrix or RDP environment you need to have the automation software installed on the server that has the other applications installed NOT on your client that is attaching to the Citrix environment.
If this or any response has helped you, please reply to the thread stating that it worked so other people with a similar issue will know how you fixed your issue!

Ciege...

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Ranorex Runtime and Citrix

Post by Support Team » Mon May 17, 2010 1:59 pm

Hi!
adrianot wrote:- Runtime License: Being a Citrix server, there are multiple sessions. How does the license work? Node locked serializes the requests, -or- having, say, 100 concurrent sessions executing the automated script is fully supported?
The Ranorex Runtime License is linked to the host machine name. Consequently, if the host names for each session are the same, you only need a single license for the Citrix server. If there are different host names for each session, you need one license per host name.

Regards,
Peter
Ranorex Support Team
.
Image