Ranorex Selenium Integration

Ask general questions here.
venkata
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2017 6:58 am

Ranorex Selenium Integration

Post by venkata » Wed Apr 19, 2017 2:01 pm

Hi,

Presently i'm working on Ranorex selenium integration using endpoint, but not able to launch Chrome and Firefox through selenium endpoint and using selenium-server-standalone.3.3.1.jar.
chrome driver version-2.29
gecko driver

please help.

Thanks

qwertzu
Posts: 179
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2017 11:08 am

Re: Ranorex Selenium Integration

Post by qwertzu » Thu Apr 20, 2017 9:59 am

Hi Venkata,

Were you able to run a test on any other browser? (maybe IE? )
What gecko driver version do you use? I use 0.15.0 and it works perfectly fine.

Please make sure that the web drivers are placed in the same folder as the selenium-server-standalone.3.3.1.jar file.

One more hint: Please take a look at your task manager and see whether multiple processes of the standalone server are running.
seleniumServerTaskManager.png
seleniumServerTaskManager.png (18.52 KiB) Viewed 822 times
If so, end all those processes and start your standalone server from the command line using: java -jar selenium-server-standalone.3.3.1.jar

Please let me know if some of the hints above helped in solving your issue.

regards,

qwertzu

taylorsl
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2016 10:26 pm

Re: Ranorex Selenium Integration

Post by taylorsl » Mon Jul 10, 2017 9:06 pm

I am having basically the same issue. I am using Selenium 3.4.0, gecko 0.17.0. I cannot get the spy to connect to the WebDriver -- just get 'Could not open <web site>' as an Action Invocation Result.

qwertzu
Posts: 179
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2017 11:08 am

Re: Ranorex Selenium Integration

Post by qwertzu » Tue Jul 11, 2017 1:56 pm

hi taylorsl,

Please make sure that the latest version of Firefox installed on your PC.
Please also make sure, that there are no Firefox processes running or multiple instances of the selenium webdriver running in the background.

Furthermore, I would suggest simply creating your tests without using the endpoint. Once your tests run locally, you should be able to execute them on your Selenium endpoint.
This way you won´t need to start the browser via Spy.

regards,

qwertzu