Ranorex Solution (Ranorex2.0, .NET3.5) doesn't work with 3.3

Ranorex Spy, Recorder, and Studio.
m.schrecker
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2012 8:14 am

Ranorex Solution (Ranorex2.0, .NET3.5) doesn't work with 3.3

Post by m.schrecker » Fri Oct 19, 2012 8:26 am

Hello,

I have a Ranorex solution which was created with Ranorex 2.0 and .NET3.5 or maybe .NET3.0, on a 32Bit machine. Now I want to use this solution in Ranorex 3.3.3 with .NET4.0 on a 64Bit machine. The machine has .NET2.0 , .NET3.0 , .NET3.5 and .NET4.0 installed. After some problems related to older dlls this works finde now. Now I have one Project in the solution which can not be compiled because I get the following error:
Ein Ausdruck ist zu lang oder zu komplex, um kompiliert zu werden. (CS1647)
The same solution is perfectly running on a 32Bit System with Ranorex 3.3!

Please help me!!!

m.schrecker
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2012 8:14 am

Re: Ranorex Solution (Ranorex2.0, .NET3.5) doesn't work with 3.3

Post by m.schrecker » Fri Oct 19, 2012 9:11 am

I found the problem:

Ranorex has created a picture as ascii code in one of the classes.
This ascii code was round about 4400 lines long and this was too much for the compiler.
Now I will use a simple jpeg file as filesource. Then it should work.

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Ranorex Solution (Ranorex2.0, .NET3.5) doesn't work with 3.3

Post by Support Team » Fri Oct 19, 2012 1:46 pm

Hi,

This is because the class file is too big because of the included images, we changed the way images are saved with the new version, they are now stored in the image resource file (rximgres).
This should be done automatically.
Which Ranorex version are you using?

Regards,
Markus
Ranorex Support Team
.
Image