Ranorex Spy 2.1: changes mouse buttons on "Track"

Bug reports.
User avatar
daa
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue May 19, 2009 2:01 pm
Location: York, UK
Contact:

Ranorex Spy 2.1: changes mouse buttons on "Track"

Post by daa » Thu May 21, 2009 9:59 am

The new Spy changes the mouse buttons back to standard right-hand settings. To see this:

Set mouse (trackball for me) to left-hand settings
Start Spy (settings still left-handed)
Press Track (settings now right-handed)
Look at Control Panel/Mouse (claims to be left-handed)
Exit Spy (settings back to left-handed)

Not serious, but very very annoying
David Allsopp,
Test Automation Engineer, Mitrefinch Ltd.

User avatar
daa
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue May 19, 2009 2:01 pm
Location: York, UK
Contact:

Followup -- Studio does the same thing

Post by daa » Thu May 21, 2009 2:14 pm

Aargh! The studio does the same thing!. It recorded all my logical left-clicks using the physical right mouse button as right clicks, so that the entire recording was wrong. Furthermore, once you've used the studio to record/playback, the mouse buttons are "standard" until you close the Studio. javascript:emoticon(':x')

I may have to revert to 2.0.2...
David Allsopp,
Test Automation Engineer, Mitrefinch Ltd.

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Post by Support Team » Fri May 22, 2009 10:47 am

You are right, swapped mouse buttons are not considered correctly. When you do a recording and perform a logical left click, the left click is recorder accordingly, but the mouse click performed while recording is actually a right click. However, unlike you mentioned, I experience this behavior only while recording with Ranorex Recorder or while tracking in Ranorex Spy. As soon as you stop recording, the correct mouse button behavior should be restored.

It might be best for left-handed users not to update to Ranorex 2.1.0, but wait for the service release 2.1.1 that will be fix this issue. You can easily revert back to Ranorex 2.0.2 by uninstalling your current Ranorex version and rerun the Ranorex 2.0.2 setup.

We are very sorry for the inconvenience this bug might cause!

Regards,
Alex
Ranorex Support Team