Ranorex Spy cannot read the result control in calc.exe

Technology specific object identification, supported applications, web technologies, and 3rd party controls.
conradb

Ranorex Spy cannot read the result control in calc.exe

Post by conradb » Thu Apr 21, 2016 9:43 am

Just so I can learn to use Ranorex (please assume I'm not a programmer at all) I decided to test the well known calc.exe program just to build my Ranorex skills and use a well known problem-domain to learn how to create simple suites and organize and learn to have a strategy for managing many suites.

The result control in calc.exe is in fact a fake/empty control or container for a number of other controls:
calc controls.jpg
I made a mash here to show all the controls in gray - the inner control is the actual windows control we want to validate. Ranorex only detects the outer control :-(

There is a page with lots of clues as to why, http://www.ranorex.com/support/user-gui ... oting.html but I would have thought that a really old win16 ported application would be typical of many legacy apps that we might want to automate the testing of and then never worry for regressions. Or is there something that I can learn in terms of advanced Validation-point and manual repository editing /xPath techniques here?

I'm only asking this, because the App I've been asked to test is in WPF. But it starts to do similar things and uses control visibility extensively to show status or progress in a wizard. My calc example is a bit obscure I know, because calc is very naughty and uses 2 overlapping controls to display to the user.

/edit
Just spotted this thread : http://www.ranorex.com/forum/no-identif ... t7270.html . which seems to provide an RanorexPath solution...

The xpath is looking ok to me, but Ranorex is not able to find the control, and clues?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
pros:Powershell automation guru
cons:UI automation hacker/n00b
Conrad Braam